On Being a Big-Picture Person

My brother and sisters and I have plenty of reasons to be angry. We grew up in back-woods poverty with parents who were addicted to drugs and alcohol, and there was a lot of physical and verbal abuse in our home. We lived in a tent for several years, then a towing-trailer, then when we put add-ons onto that to turn it into what we called “the shack.” We went without running water, electricity, new clothes, medical care, or dependable transportation for a good portion of our childhoods. When our violent father finally got put behind bars, our mother died of alcohol poisoning just a few months later. She passed away just before the divorce could go through, so, legally, when our father got out less than a year later he inherited all of her material possessions and us kids were left with nothing but each other and a restraining order to protect ourselves from him.

(*Whew!* Try reading that 5 times fast!)

I’m telling you this short-version of my growing-up sob story not so you will pity me in any way, but so I can share with you the possibility of over-coming the sucky situations that go beyond our control. I could reminisce on the co-workers who saw my mother’s black eyes but did nothing about it and conclude that the world is a terrible place not worth salvaging. But I don’t.

It’s too easy of a trap to play the victim and I won’t fall for it.

I am not sad.

I am happy.

I am not angry.

I am hopeful.

I do not feel rejected.

I am bursting with motivation.

I do not think about how unfair life is.

I think about how I can make life better.

I do not hate….

But I am always learning.

I am not depressed.

I am energized.

Today is better than yesterday, and I am looking forward to tomorrow while I enjoy it.

I work hard, and give hard, and love even harder.

I step back, see the big picture, and smile.

No matter who your parents were, where you were born, or what you’ve been unfairly saddled with, you don’t have to be the angry victim. Choose to be a big-picture person instead.

I hope you inspire to go beyond what you’ve been given, and that you recognize the special talents that only you can share with the world. I hope you take that talent and use it to move forward. We all have reasons to be angry, but we also have so many more reasons to be glad. We just have to choose to see it that way.


Tagged: , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “On Being a Big-Picture Person

  1. Heather Everson Design June 17, 2013 at 7:05 am Reply

    Very inspiring Megan! You also prove that despite a rocky past, you can choose to become the person you are today. So many people choose to place blame rather than change their outlook. Kudos to you!

    • Megan June 17, 2013 at 8:32 am Reply

      Thanks Heather!

  2. wishingwellstudio June 17, 2013 at 7:07 am Reply

    LOVE your Tude Megan!

  3. Laurie Rohner Studio June 17, 2013 at 7:35 am Reply

    Thank you Megan for sharing a part of your life and showing everyone you can change how you see life different from your situation. In my town we just got through a nasty storm with downed lines and services. I found people around me preferred to hold on to the devastation and chaos by saying it will be days maybe a week before power would come back. Almost getting a thrill from the intense negative fear which filled the air. I chose to believe the men working tirelessly through the night and days would have the power on fast. Happily they did. Today I read your post. Isn’t the universe a beautiful place?

    • Megan June 17, 2013 at 9:24 am Reply

      That it is Laurie. ♥

  4. Sally-Ann June 17, 2013 at 7:43 am Reply

    You’re inspiring Megan! Speaking as one who has had her share of life challenges ( and still bumps up against them every now and again) I feel moved to say ‘THANKYOU for sharing!’

    The beads are almost secondary. You were born to encourage and motivate others, I’m sure. From one Peaceful Warrior to another, with love ♡

    • Megan June 17, 2013 at 8:37 am Reply

      Thank you Sally-Ann. I do love it when people let me know I am the reason they have moved forward or tried something they might otherwise have been too afraid to do. :-) We only get one life, might as well do our part to make the best of it.

  5. kiihele June 17, 2013 at 12:31 pm Reply

    What an inspiration you are Megan. I’m going thought a really hard time with a relationship and I’ve been feeling the victim, but I think I am going to be a little more proactive and get through it unscathed…maybe a little down, but not out!

  6. sueswordfitlyspoken June 22, 2013 at 4:22 am Reply

    Megan, this is a true inspiration to us all. One would never know what you had been through because you have made beauty out of ashes. I have posted your Blog on my FB page today. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

