Best. Birthday. Ever. (Warning: Extreme Sarcasm)

Happy [freaking] birthday to me!

Today I am officially on the down-side of my mid-twenties. I am hitting the 25 mark and heading on into another year older. Which is fine with me. While not wanting to wish my life away, it would be cool if the people at my day job stopped mistaking me for a high school intern.

Though looking like a 16-year-old has it’s perks!

Funny story: The other day a door-to-door salesman rang my doorbell. When I answered it, he asked me if my parents were home.

“No….” I responded incredulously.

“Okay,” He responded, “Have a nice day!” Then he left.

What if I wanted to buy whatever he was selling? ;-) Meh, easier than hanging a No Soliciting sign I suppose.

Back on track: Today I turn 25. Finally old enough to be taken seriously (hah!) and rent a car.

How am I celebrating this most memorable of occasion, you ask?

Dramatically speaking, I’m getting my throat ripped out.

In other words, I’m going under to have my tonsils removed. On my birthday.

(I changed my mind, growing up sucks. Can’t I just be 12 again?)

So here’s to celebrating 25 years by popping pain meds, being physically incapable of singing the birthday song, and living off of popsicles for the next couple of weeks hereafter.

Anybody else have any not-so-awesome birthday tales they wanna share? Post ’em in the comment below!

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Best. Birthday. Ever. (Warning: Extreme Sarcasm)

  1. Heather Everson Design May 23, 2013 at 7:36 am Reply

    Man that really sucks! Happy birthday anyway though, eat your favorite flavor of popsicle :)

  2. Karen Pawlowski Vincer May 23, 2013 at 7:46 am Reply

    Happy birthday to the 1st day of the rest of your life without pain from getting tonsillitis!

  3. kiihele May 23, 2013 at 12:06 pm Reply

    Hau’oli La Hanau from Maui. I have always loved my birthday even after 68 of them, but I must say I would never have scheduled surgery on a day meant for celebration. So, just pretend, for this year, that your birthday is June 10th. Then, sing, eat strawberry shortcake (or any favorite yummy), dance and enjoy THAT day as if it were your own.

  4. The Craft Frog May 23, 2013 at 3:38 pm Reply

    Well, if that’s not an excuse for ice cream on your birthday, I don’t know what is. Happy birthday!!! I hope you have a speedy recovery!

  5. Jill Varga May 24, 2013 at 12:18 am Reply

    Have a celebration when your throat feels better. Love your Blog, Greetings from Down Under.

  6. sueswordfitlyspoken May 25, 2013 at 6:06 am Reply

    Well, I guess saying Happy Birthday is out (*smiles*) but I do want to go on record as wishing you a much more exciting and fabulous 26th year! Hope all went well with the surgery.

  7. […] Day! (Please spare me the talk of delicious BBQ food, and I am still choking down what I can in the aftermath of my tonsil removal. […]

  8. shirley May 27, 2013 at 12:44 pm Reply

    On a happier note, one day you’re going to be very happy you look younger than you are it does have benefits, if it bothers you that bad say hey I’m not 15 years old give me a break. or maybe you act like 15.
    And sorry about having your tonsils out out on your birthday but there must have been a good reason or you did’nt question if you could have it on another day. Hopefully you will have many many more birthdays and remember you can only have one tonsilectomy so enjoy double on your next one.

  9. Dawn Whitehand May 27, 2013 at 10:29 pm Reply

    Hope your feeling better :-0

Leave a comment