Eliminating “Just”

“Just” can be such a limiting word.

“I’m just a mom.”

“I just make scarves.”

“This is just another day.”

“It’s just a job.”

“He’s just a writer.”

“She’s just an adviser.”

 

Eliminate the “just”s, and eliminate your limitations.

“I’m a mom. I am the most important person in someone’s life.”

“I make scarves. They become reminders of my love for whoever I give them to.”

“This is another day. Anything is possible.”

“It’s a job; another step on the way to my dreams.”

“He’s a writer. He feeds souls with words.”

“She’s an adviser. She motivates, empowers, and propels.”

barrette

I don’t just make jewelry. I create art that women can wear. My pieces will help you express your unique individuality, stand out from the crowd, and receive plenty of positive attention and compliments.

Do you think in terms of “just”? How much of a difference would it make if you were to break the habit?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Eliminating “Just”

  1. pcourneya April 8, 2013 at 7:31 am Reply

    Excellent post, Megan. I just love it!

  2. Mona Lindvall April 8, 2013 at 7:54 am Reply

    I received this note yesterday from a customer who purchased some jewelry from me well over a year ago:

    “Just a quick note to say how very much I LOVE your artwork, and how honored I am to be wearing it! I get more compliments on the turquoise necklace than any other piece of jewelry I have…and I have a LOT of jewelry. The river stone bracelet runs a close second. I have actually had people grab my wrist to get a closer look.
    Thank you for making the world more beautiful…and for making me (and others) smile!”

    Megan, your post, and this note, serve as reminders that I don’t “just” make jewelry, either!

    Thank you so much for reminding us all that we’re not “just” anything!

  3. Lora Cheese April 8, 2013 at 8:28 am Reply

    Excellent post as usual…..really make me think. Have removed the word “just” from my vocabulary. :)

  4. Ursula Moore April 8, 2013 at 6:25 pm Reply

    I needed to hear or read this blog today it has helped me to learn to stop using that word just in such a negative way thank you.

  5. Diana C. Keever April 9, 2013 at 9:25 am Reply

    Thank you so much for this. “Just” is just a limiting word. :) But seriously, this is an important point, and something from which most all of us can benefit. :)

Leave a Reply

