Meet Rose Slaton, Friday’s Featured Artist

The Swingset Fantasy Illustration Print – $20

Can you sum yourself up in 3 sentences? Give it a go!
I like drawing. I am fascinated by mechanical things, especially Steampunk and Victorian type objects. I like to illustrate fantastical, spooky places I wish existed.

Tell us about what you sell:
I sell giclee and cardstock prints of original steampunk/gothic/fantasy illustrations. The cardstock prints are $3.50 and the giclee prints range from $30-$40. Soon I will be selling folded illustration cards w/ envelopes.

Vintage Diving Helmet Original Illustration Semigloss Cardstock 5 X 7 – $3

What is your favorite thing about creating?
I like drawing because I feel it is the best medium through which I can transport myself (and hopefully others) to a fantastical world: I like the idea of creating a tangible representation of imaginary things we often experience as children – when we are inspired, or even frightened.

Where do you find your inspiration?
I am inspired by the art of others – whether it is writing, visual art, music, etc. More specifically, I am inspired by art that is provoking and makes me feel emotions – whether these emotions are positive or negative. For example, the illustrations of Stephen Gammell frighten me. (He illustrated the book Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark). His works are utterly creepy, and consequently inspiring. I also admire Edward Gorey, Marc Chagall, Brian Froud, and M.C. Escher.

Changing a Lightbulb Steampunk Illustration Print – $20

Do you have any advice for other sellers?
I’m just starting out on Etsy, and have almost no practical business knowledge…the only advice I can offer is to make art because you love art. If this is your primary motivation, you will remain fulfilled and motivated(hopefully) even if your shop isn’t necessarily selling as much product as you would like.

Where else can we find you?
roseslaton.com

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Meet Rose Slaton, Friday’s Featured Artist

  1. earthmother195 March 8, 2013 at 8:44 pm Reply

    Great feature!

  2. sueswordfitlyspoken March 12, 2013 at 8:16 pm Reply

    I love rose’s style!

Leave a Reply

