I didn’t know I needed THAT

I make and sell handmade jewelry. The thing about selling a non-necessity like jewelery is, well… it’s a non-necessity. No one ever really NEEDS a new necklace or pair of earrings. Come to think of it, most people don’t really NEED a new smart phone, pair of dress shoes, or package of cookies either. Turns out, people buy a lot of things they don’t really need.

When people want something badly enough, they will convince themselves they do in fact NEED said thing. It’s up to the sellers to convince their potential customers that they want what they have to offer.

For example:
Susan Smith WANTS to go on a vacation. She sees some brochures and advertisements for a cruise line deal and these images and messages further deepen her want for the vacation. Eventually, the presence of these advertisements make it more and more likely that Susan will convince herself that she not only WANTS this vacation, but NEEDS it. She will tell herself that she has been working way too hard lately, and could use a break. She will convince herself that a vacation would be just the thing to reboot herself, and she would return feeling more productive and ready than ever.

In the above example, the cruise line company increased Susan’s desire for a vacation by placing their ads in front of her often enough for their message to sink in.

Relax. Enjoy. Take a break. You need this.

Susan is the company’s target audience (working, upper-middle class income, with vacation time to utilize.) The marketing campaign of the cruise line turned Susan’s original want into a specific NEED for their product. Susan no longer just wanted a break from work, but to go on a cruise during her time off.

Consider the above example when promoting your own products.

When marketing your products, be they jewelry, bath and body, or baked goods, market your items in such a way that places the emphasis on WHY someone would want them. Discern what your target audience’s desire is, and explain to them how your product fulfills that desire. Turn your non-necessary items into the solution to a problem.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “I didn’t know I needed THAT

  1. Nan March 6, 2013 at 10:21 am Reply

    Economics at its best. Good post!

  2. Ki'ihele West March 6, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

    So true, so true. Now I will have to convince people that they REALLY NEED my hula skirts! However, if you already dance hula, a skirt really is must have as opposed to a want. I’m so thankful for that.

  3. BinduDesigns March 8, 2013 at 8:56 am Reply

    Megan, Very nicely said. Now I know, what I am missing with my crocheted things. Since I don’t look for things I just want, I was thinking the same with others too. I have to make them feel why they must have a crocheted blanket, cushion or a cap….

    • MegansBeadedDesigns March 8, 2013 at 9:10 am Reply

      Bindu, I can tell you that as an avid buyer of crochet items (I love me some fingerless gloves!), I look for items that I identify with. This means the colors, the design, and the embellishment screams “Megan!” and I HAVE to buy it. One of my favorite Etsy shops to buy from is mademoisellemermaid, https://www.etsy.com/shop/mademoisellemermaid, the lace, bows, etc that she adds to her pieces are so my style, therefore, I am a member of her target audience.

      Now you can think about your target audience, and what ways you can present your goods so that they resonate with them in such a way that they just HAVE to purchase.

      Hope this helps!

  4. Barb Oliphant March 11, 2013 at 7:28 am Reply

    Thanks for this! I immediately started getting ideas as to how to make my Worry Worms a necessity to have.

  5. David T. Salerno (@jewelrymandave) March 16, 2013 at 5:19 pm Reply

    Excellent advice1 As a fellow jewelry retailer it can be very difficult to distinguish myself from the rest of the crowd so i always try to emphasize how one of my jewelry designs will “help” the buyer! For instance…….”This shiny silver necklace wil help focus attention to that slinky new black evening gown” or “Reward yourself for the diet you have been on and accentuate that slim new waistline with this belly chain” etc,

Leave a Reply

