Meet Edi from Memories for Life

Today’s featured artist is Edi, from the Etsy shop memoriesforlifesb. Learn more about her amazing shop and products in the interview below!

Wooden Recipe Book – Family Favorites – $15

Can you sum yourself up in 3 sentences? Give it a go!
I’m a self-employed artist living in small town Iowa with my boyfriend, Jesse and our dog, Harley. My type-A personality brain never rests. And I love custom work :)

Tell us about what you sell:
I sell laser engraved items, mostly wood. And one-of-a-kind scrapbooks. I sell mostly custom pieces because I love getting to personalize each item for the buyer. My wedding items are one my most popular categories in my shop.

Personalized Wine Bottle Stopper Engraved Crystal – $18

What is your favorite thing about creating?
The never-ending list of ideas I have. Creating a new piece that just wows you…that’s my favorite part :)

Where do you find your inspiration?
Since buying my laser engraver, everything is inspiration. Everything I see I wonder if I can engrave it…lol. I see things in a whole new light. I look at other artwork and think how I could translate it into wood and make it my own. I also get a lot of ideas from my customers…they’ll request something and then my brain has 10 new ideas from that one request!

Wedding Guest Book Photo Album LARGE SIZE – Peacock Design – $45

Do you have any advice for other sellers?
Be patient. This year has been wonderful for me and I was able to quit my full-time job. But it didn’t happen over night. I’ve been on Etsy for almost 5 years and I did local craft shows before that. Too often I see new sellers wondering why they’re items aren’t flying off the shelves. These things take time. Use your down time to promote your business and create new ideas.

Where else can we find you?

Blog: memoriesforlifescrapbooks.blogspot.com

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Meet Edi from Memories for Life

  1. Trina (Trina's Clay Creations) February 15, 2013 at 7:32 am Reply

    Great feature! I love Edi’s work! She has written great advice here for other Etsy sellers.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns February 15, 2013 at 9:29 am Reply

      I agree Trina! Patience is quite the virtue, especially in business!

  2. Memories for Life February 15, 2013 at 8:04 am Reply

    Thanks so much for featuring my shop today! I really appreciate it :)

  3. Ayla February 15, 2013 at 2:02 pm Reply

    nice feature! I love her stuff. I remember when she was doing scrapbooking. It’s nice to see how much she has grown.

  4. Deb February 16, 2013 at 10:23 pm Reply

    Nice feature. Love all the wood pieces! {:-D

Leave a Reply

