How to Decide What’s a Big Deal

There’s this woman I work with, who, is generally a very nice individual. She is easy-going and open… until someone takes her parking spot.

We have a very large parking lot across the building where we all work. No one really has designated spots, they just start to feel “claimed” after certain people have been parking in them for awhile. Sort of like the desk you sit in on the first day of class, which automatically thereafter becomes “your” desk.

One day, in a fit of rage over her parking spot being taken, this co-worker asks me, “What would YOU do if someone parked in YOUR spot?”

My hesitant response: “Uhm… I would park in the next spot over.”

I didn’t want to belittle her concerns, but… seriously? It’s just a parking spot. Not like there aren’t several others to choose from only a few car-lengths away. I just don’t understand all of the wasted energy being wasted on something that isn’t a big deal.

Unless you count how much I stress over keeping my nails painted nice, or getting the dishes done before company comes over, or head-desking over a later-noticed grammatical error on a Facebook page status. Come to think of it, there are a lot of meaningless “parking-lot spaces” I worry over. I can even take a wild guess that a lot of you have some too.

Taking a step back, looking at the big picture, what are some of the silly things you stress over? That extra 5 lbs? Not showing up on the first page of your Etsy browse category? The reach status of your Facebook posts? Let’s take a moment to realize together, that there are a lot of silly things we worry over, which may be distracting us from some of our bigger goals and dreams.

What do you worry about, that isn’t REALLY that big of a deal?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “How to Decide What’s a Big Deal

  1. Barbara January 21, 2013 at 2:21 pm Reply

    Too many thing, just ask the hubby.! Good post.

  2. Barbara January 21, 2013 at 2:22 pm Reply

    Like that i forgot the ‘s’ on things! LOL

  3. T. January 21, 2013 at 3:13 pm Reply

    Oh you got me; my family could give you a HUGE list but they would laugh at it too!!!

    Gotta keep a sense of humour about our neuroses, LOL!!! :)

    Gave a great day, cheers, T. :)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 22, 2013 at 8:40 am Reply

      Humor is always the best way to give us some perspective and let us laugh off our faults. :-)

  4. Erika Towle January 21, 2013 at 3:56 pm Reply

    You are so right. A few years ago after losing an Uncle, Grandmother & Father within a year and a half I have learned not to make big deals out of nothing, it’s not worth the wasted energy, life is too short. Hopefully someday she will learn this.. There are things I make a big deal out of but it usually on the days when my back pain is driving me insane and makes me fly off the handle, other than those days I’m a mellow person.
    ~E

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 22, 2013 at 8:41 am Reply

      Major life events, such as losing a close loved one, always put things back into perspective for us. Thank you for sharing Erika.

  5. Sweet Posy Dreams January 21, 2013 at 5:07 pm Reply

    So true, we get too caught up in the little things. Interesting post.

    Stopping by from Etsy Blog Team

  6. J_Mo February 25, 2013 at 3:16 pm Reply

    I tend to worry about what other people think of me. Beyond my loved ones and my customers, THAT is really not a big deal. I also worry about money, even though I have a steady income. Sure, money is usually tight, but at least I have some coming in!

Leave a Reply

