Is Fear Holding You Back?

Running a business can be pretty freaking scary sometimes. I know I look all calm and collected on the outside, but I’m usually shaking in my bones right before trying out a new opportunity. You can ask my hubby how well I sleep at night before a big craft show. (As you might have guessed: not well.) The possibility of rejection or failure is downright nerve-wracking.

The down-side to this sort of anxiety is that it doesn’t exactly instill confidence from others into our business. We all know that confidence is sexy, and that we have to be the biggest believer of our goods in order to convince others to do the same. So how do we handle our inner, insecure artist side that would rather give up before even trying? It seems that all of the sales, success, and positive feedback in the world could not appease our own fear of failure…

Fake it ’til you make it.

In all honestly, you don’t even really have to “fake.” a whole lot. You already HAVE made it. If you are creating and selling your goods, putting them out there for all the world to see and judge, you are a success. You have given your insecurities the biggest blow to the gut they have ever received. Now revel in that success and build on it!

Focus on the fun part.

How much fun are you having coming up with new designs, getting feedback from your customers, and meeting other crafty peeps? It’s a good time. There is always more good than bad, the bad just screams the loudest.

Suck it up and jump in.

And if you fail? That’s OKAY. Really, there is no such thing as an ultimate failure. Even if you don’t end up selling much at that craft fair, or that one boutique turns your items down, you’ll have gained experience to learn and grow from.

Not sure if your new product will be a hit? Make some samples, list them and just SEE. They either will or they won’t.

Afraid of a gallery calling your work amateur? You’ll never know if that’s what they think unless you apply to get in. Even if that IS what they end up calling your work, you can ask them for specific feedback as to WHY, and see if you can apply their criticism or not in your future productions.

Scared they’ll say no? The answer is basically “no” if you never ask.

You can’t wait to the fear to go away before you try to accomplish your goals. If you work towards those goals, despite the fear, it will gradually fade into the background. Eventually, you’ll hardly even notice it, except maybe those nights before craft shows.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Is Fear Holding You Back?

  1. Heather January 7, 2013 at 7:29 am Reply

    No matter how many times I go over a checklist before a show I always have this ridiculous anxiety that I’m going to forget something important or blunder something. It’s never happened but that doesn’t ease my mind till it’s actually show day. Drives me crazy! Anxiety or not, it’s never stopped me from moving ahead, which is the important fact.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 7, 2013 at 8:33 am Reply

      I feel the same way Heather. Second or third day shows are always better because I usually get over my fear that first day when everything works out fine.

      • Heather Everson Design January 7, 2013 at 10:10 am Reply

        I always feel ridiculous for being so anxious, especially since it’s so unfounded. Yet, that little voice in the back of my head always places doubt in myself. Someday I will find a way to smother that little a-hole. ;)

  2. Erika Towle January 7, 2013 at 10:46 am Reply

    You have some really good points here. Now I just need to do it! i’m not currently selling my jewelry but have wanted to do shows or the local art market that they have weekly. But it’s the fear & lack of energy. ( I’m dealing with a lot of back related issues & pain)
    Thanks for you ideas! I’m going to print this out for inspiration..

  3. Silvia January 7, 2013 at 1:03 pm Reply

    Wise words! I’m going with the “don’t believe everything you think” motto this year!

  4. Kristiann January 7, 2013 at 4:32 pm Reply

    Thanks for this reminder! I know that sometimes I am too scared that people won’t like what I have created

  5. Kim @2justByou January 8, 2013 at 8:55 am Reply

    You’re so right. Sometimes we just gotta suck it up and go for it!
    ~Kim

  6. ljiljana January 8, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

    I’m glad I joined this group, Megan you are make my day better, most of the time I feel the same way , I feel a lot easier, I can see that it is nothing unusual tnx

  7. […] Is Fear Holding You Back? (megansbeadeddesigns.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

