What Would You Choose

  • If you had to do one thing for the rest of your life, what would you do?
  • If you knew for certain that you would not fail, what would you try?

Now you know what I’m going to ask next: Why aren’t you working towards THAT?

I’m personally guilty of this. Between the bills, and the immediate needs, and the lack of time… I tend to work on projects that pay sooner rather than later. I need to stay afloat, as we all do. But what would I do if I knew I could not fail? What would I do if I had to choose only one thing to be for the rest of my life?

I would write. I would write novels and they would be delicious and fulfilling and terrifying and it would be wonderful.

How long has it been since I’ve indulged in writing fiction? Too long. So here is my kick in the pants to get my own butt in gear. For 2013, I will begin outlining a novel, or two, or three. Because sometimes you just have to get started in order to get the ball rolling.

Blog-border

What’s your response? What would you do?

Please share in the comments. Lets talk about making our dreams happen.

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “What Would You Choose

  1. twistedpixelstudio December 31, 2012 at 8:13 am Reply

    I am going to play the devil’s advocate here and reply with the idea that if I know I will not fail, then I don’t need to try it. Why, because the risks, the unknown, and the natural curiosity of wanting to know if I CAN are all part of the growth of the human soul. I once read a line in an Anne Rice novel, something along the lines of not wanting to know everything, and that God must be bored because he does. That line really spoke to me.

  2. Sarah (Saturday Sequins) January 2, 2013 at 7:23 am Reply

    As a Polymath/Scanner type of person, I couldn’t choose just one thing to do for the rest of my life, but if I could pick two or three, writing novels would be up there on the list! Along with pioneering new jewelry making techniques and writing recipe books. :)

    I haven’t written for a long time, either. You know who motivated me to at least do some character sketches, though? Johnny B. Truant. He has some awesome tips for writing and doing other things you love, and he has a writing podcast, too: selfpublishingpodcast.com.

Leave a Reply

