Are You a Success Yet?

It’s nearing the end of the year (and, if you’re a fan of Mayan conspiracy theories, the end of the WORLD.) Seems to me like just the right time to take a moment to reflect, and celebrate our accomplishments.

We all have a different idea of what success is “supposed” to look like. To some it might be making enough to quit the day job and afford that triple-decker yacht, to others it might be making and listing that first item.

I try not to think of success as a finish line. For me, it is not motionless goal to be finally attained, but the act of moving in the right direction. To me, success is growth. As long as there is progress, there is success, and plenty more of it where that came from.

You are a success in all of the areas you are better off now than you were before.

There are the obvious measurements of course. If you have made more money this year than last year, obtained more clients, and/or sold more listings.

But there are others too. Have you increased your number of business connections? Established yourself locally? Gathered more followers on your social networks?

How much more have you learned this year? I’ll bet you one salted caramel mocha it’s more than you knew last year.

What about in your personal life? How much closer to your friends are you this year compared to last? How much more solid are your family relations? What health goals have you been working towards and how much further along on them are you than you were the year before?

I think you get it. Whatever you used to think success was supposed to look like, I’m here to tell you:

YOU ARE A SUCCESS

Now pass the wine, because I’m thinking this is something worth celebrating!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Are You a Success Yet?

  1. Nelson Jewelry & Gemstones December 19, 2012 at 7:19 am Reply

    To me success is the willingness to keep going, keep trying new things. As soon as I give up or stop learning, I’ve failed. Of course, giving up is not the same as letting go.

    So I keep plugging away. Failure is just the word for defeat and resignation.

  2. Heather December 19, 2012 at 10:08 am Reply

    Very well put! To me success is moving forward, learning from mistakes and applying knowledge you’ve learned along the way. It’s not numbers, money, or fame in my eyes. It’s the determination to keep going :)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 19, 2012 at 11:25 am Reply

      Precisely! Every increment of growth, be it knowledge or experience, is a success.

  3. Daphne December 19, 2012 at 12:46 pm Reply

    This post is very timely for me. Lately, I have been thinking a lot about how I view success. I have realized I wasn’t stopping to realize the small day to day successes nearly enough.

  4. Silvia December 19, 2012 at 2:55 pm Reply

    Thanks for this post, for a moment I stopped thinking about what I still haven’t accomplished and felt proud of what I HAVE :)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 19, 2012 at 3:39 pm Reply

      Celebrating our accomplishments is also a great way to help us feel positive, and motivated for what we have yet to finish! :-)

  5. Angela December 20, 2012 at 6:10 am Reply

    Great post! I definitely do know more than last year, just like always, and it’s refreshing to hear that I don’t have to be where I expected to be and that’s okay! Very inspirational words: )

    Lovely Llorys

  6. […] you are creating and selling your goods, putting them out there for all the world to see and judge, you are a success. You have given your insecurities the biggest blow to the gut they have ever received. Now revel in […]

Leave a Reply

