Does the Internet Make You Feel Lame?

There are so many inspiring, beautiful, and perfect images on the internet! A quick scan of Pinterest will offer you an array of Instagram filtered glaces at flawless manicures, adorable frosted cupcakes, and beautiful models swirling in refined evening gowns. Even if you side-step over to Facebook you’ll get cropped images of your friends hanging out and having fun, smiles all a-gleam, beautiful vacation snapshots, happy families, and glamorous self-portraits straight from the home bathroom-studio, complete with carefully applied eye-liner.

pinterest

The problem with all of this is we are only seeing everyone’s BEST portrayal of their lives and businesses. We don’t get to see the part during the vacation when everyone is exhausted and cranky from the long drive. We don’t get to glace over the unedited, reject portraits taken before the good ones. We don’t get to see images of when those two best friends aren’t getting along, or when that craft project screwed up halfway. You won’t find hair tutorials on Pinterest that fall flat, or be able to sample those cute-looking cupcakes to know if they actually taste as good as they look.

Cupcakes

This is just ridiculous.

Don’t let all of the online-perfection make you feel like your life isn’t good enough. Most of the content on the internet goes through a filter and is hazed over before being placed online. It may all look so wonderful, happy, and glamorous, but that’s because we are only seeing one side of it. People will post pictures of their wedding and their honeymoon, but not their first fight as a married couple. You’ll see sweet images of newborns, but not of in-progress labor or soiled diapers. Know that every person’s life has picture-perfect highlights, and imperfect experiences that help us grow and learn. Keep this in mind whenever you peruse the world of the internet and start to feel that sense of envy creeping in.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Does the Internet Make You Feel Lame?

  1. Cole December 6, 2012 at 8:35 am Reply

    I know what you’re talking about! I’ve felt this way for years, that my Facebook friends were competing for some sort of perfectionist award or something. I would follow a tutorial on how to sew something, only to end up throwing it out wondering what went wrong and how come their’s is so darn perfect? Lol!
    It’s hard to remind yourself that people only show the good, especially when that Envy does start to creep in.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 6, 2012 at 8:58 am Reply

      That’s exactly the kind of thing I’m talking about Cole! I feel like there’s a gritty, seedy underbelly to everything we see posted online. And frankly, it’s a side I’d like to see more often!

  2. Monique U (A Half-Baked Notion) December 6, 2012 at 9:38 am Reply

    Facebook, blogs, Pinterest, etc., etc., like we all needed MORE unrealistic expectations to live up to, Megan. Makes me long for the good old days, when only television and magazines could make us feel two inches tall LOL.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 6, 2012 at 9:52 am Reply

      haha, that’s true Monique. The internet is really just providing another way of doing what TV and magazines have been doing for a long time now. i think the only difference is that we are seeing it from our own friends versus some actresses and models we don’t know in real life.

  3. Heather December 6, 2012 at 9:48 am Reply

    There’s really no point in wasting time comparing yourself to others. There will always be someone who has more and has done more than you. Life is what you make it and I choose to be happy with what I have and what I’ve achieved on my own.

    However, if someone would like to build me all that crap that I’ve pinned on Pinterest and haven’t made yet or make my home look like it came from a BHG mag, I wouldn’t stop them ;)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 6, 2012 at 9:53 am Reply

      Oh goodness… me neither Heather! When people ask me what I want for Christmas his year, I’m going to respond with: “Have you not SEEN my Wanelo wishlist?!?”

  4. Nicole December 6, 2012 at 11:40 am Reply

    those cupcakes are sooo ridiculous. no one has the perfect life – regardless of what you may think.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 6, 2012 at 12:00 pm Reply

      That is very true Nicole.

      Plus, I think that there can be beauty (and life!) in the imperfections. Like having a good laugh when you and your partner try to duplicate the above pictures cupcakes, only to make a sloppy, gloppy mess.

      Better to enjoy what we have, and be happy with the way life REALLY is, than to yearn for something unattainable.

  5. SaturdaySequins December 6, 2012 at 2:24 pm Reply

    Thanks for this, Megan!

    I feel insecure every now and then — like when I see photos of the fantastic beaded collars people create. So big! So complicated. So pretty. So… intimidating.

    Recently, though, I learned that even Sherry Serafini makes pieces she doesn’t like or that are too small to be worn by actual people. That helped me so much. The people who achieve great things mess up all the time, but their secret is that they keep going.

    That’s why I like to share my failures and mistakes. Writing about them helps me learn from them and makes me a better person. And who knows? Maybe I’ll help someone else along the way.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 6, 2012 at 2:33 pm Reply

      Absolutely! Everyone messes up from time to time, and it’s awesome that you are willing to disclose your mistakes so that others may learn from them too. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Peggy Martinez December 7, 2012 at 7:12 am Reply

    Ha-this week I painted a watercolor sketch for a large commission to show my client. The truth is I did 3 paintings till “me,I and myself” was satisfied. Another time I did 10 versions and sold a few of the rejects!

    I have a pile of reject letters from grants and galleries. Let’s add the paintings and sketches that will never see the day of light.

    My life is not glamarous, my days are long, lonely and spent in a collection of sweats because I get paint on everything, but I love my piece of heaven and wouldn’t change it.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 7, 2012 at 8:11 am Reply

      Awww Peggy, that is wonderful! Thank you for sharing your little piece of Heaven with us!

  7. Lora Ann Cheese December 8, 2012 at 6:08 am Reply

    Thanks for sharing this! You accurately described how I have been feeling for the past two weeks and your post snapped me out of it. :) I have a whole new perspective going into next week!!!!

Leave a Reply

