The Occasional Leap

I took a big leap with my last craft fair participation. It was the most expensive booth fee I’d ever paid, almost twice as much as my big outdoor show in July. I was nervous that I wouldn’t make enough money back to justify the initial cost, especially considering that my best selling items are ticketed at $5 a piece.

But I’m glad I took the chance, as the show ended up being hugely successful. In addition to enough sales to make my booth fee back (and then some), I got several custom orders out of it to work on for the rest of the month.

The show (Custer’s Christmas Arts and Crafts Show) was filled with people during its 3-day run. I was able to introduce my jewelry to plenty of new faces, as well as some familiar ones who remembered me from other shows (or recognized my items from my Etsy shops, which is always exciting to hear!)

I did learn a few lessons though. Like, to bring some display lighting next time, and well as more or less inventory on certain items. Either way, its a leap I’m glad I took, and if I am invited back, I will most definitely be participating in Custer’s spring show come March.

Sometimes, it’s okay to take a leap with your business. Whether it be a pricier craft show, an online ad, or trying blogging for the first time. Some leaps will work, some won’t. Always, a lesson or two will be learned, and your business will grow from it. While I’m not advocating you spend your life-savings on expensive plunges, I do think the occasional risk is worth a shot. You can only predict the outcomes so much, before you have to actually do the thing to find out what the results will be.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Occasional Leap

  1. twistedpixelstudio November 28, 2012 at 7:06 am Reply

    Congrats Megan! I do love your work and have had my eye on some pieces for when I start my its all about me Christmas shopping! :)

  2. Sarah (Saturday Sequins) November 28, 2012 at 7:06 pm Reply

    Congrats on a successful craft fair! Those eyeball earrings are awesome. My guess is they were a big hit. :)

    You’re right about taking a risk every now and then. I didn’t take a monetary risk setting up the online craft fair I had this past weekend, but it was a risk in terms of time, since I have a real-life one to prepare for. I’m hoping it’ll pay off, for me and for all the vendors.

    Also, I see The Graveyard Book on your book list. I loved that book so, so much. <3

    • MegansBeadedDesigns November 29, 2012 at 8:12 am Reply

      I was skeptical at first, because I though “kid’s book,” but I loved it too! Neil Gaiman is definitely on my top authors list!

  3. Heather November 29, 2012 at 1:20 pm Reply

    Congrats! I’m glad you did well! I’ll be taking a “leap” next year with a craft show I hope to get into. I know it’s worth it, but it is double what I’m used to paying! I know how it feels!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns November 29, 2012 at 3:25 pm Reply

      I hope you get in Heather, that way you’ll know for sure whether it was a good choice or not!

Leave a Reply

