Listening to My Customers

I know it seems like a silly thing to proclaim, but it’s not a bad idea to listen to your customers.

Yeah… DUH.

Okay, so this seems so obvious, but it’s surprisingly implemented less than you would think. I have been no exception either.

ID Badge Lanyard

Year after year I’ve gotten requests for eyeglass lanyards at my craft fair booths. People walk up,see my ID lanyards and excitedly announce, “Yay! Lanyards! Do you have any for eyeglasses?”

My response: “No, sorry. Only ID badge ones.”

I never thought to make any for eyeglasses because I personally don’t wear glasses. I do wear an ID badge, which is why I started to make the ID lanyards.

Common sense would have been for me to immediately start making the eyeglass lanyards after the first request. But no… I simply never got around to it, despite the onslaught of customer requests. After about 3 years of getting these requests (pitiful, I KNOW), I have finally begun to make the sought-after item.

Eyeglass Lanyard

Now I’m going to warn you not to make the same mistake. If you are getting requests to make a certain item, or maybe an addition to an item you already make, LISTEN. These customers are after all, the reason you’re in business in the first place.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Listening to My Customers

  1. twistedpixelstudio September 19, 2012 at 10:27 am Reply

    Oh yes! Most definitely. And I would even suggest that if you do not have what they are looking for and its something you KNOW you can create, etc. ask them if they would like a custom order!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns September 19, 2012 at 10:47 am Reply

      Absolutely! I now keep a stack of “custom order forms” I made up with me at every craft show I’m at.

  2. nauli September 19, 2012 at 3:27 pm Reply

    How right you are! But we also have a product in the pipeline since ages, which is requested a lot. We just don’t have the time to finish it, although we know we should have done it since many month ago…

  3. tinytes September 20, 2012 at 1:38 am Reply

    This is SO true!! I’m currently in the process of reworking my entire website & business to do what my customers want, rather than what I thought they might want. The best part is, what they want is even more fun than my original plan!

    At your next shows, make sure you have a big bright new sign that says EYEGLASS LANYARDS!! :D

Leave a Reply

