Confidence is Sexy

People are naturally drawn to confidence. The self-assured aura omitted by this nature draws potential mates, friends, and customers alike. In short: it’s sexy.

I see several handmade sellers all but curl into a ball of fear and insecurity when asked to talk about their products. Or worse, THEMSELVES. Such a reaction is a big, unsexy turn-off. This attitude does not make me want to hang out with you, or your shop. It also does nothing to convince me to buy your stuff.

Think about it: if you act like you don’t think your stuff is awesome, why should I? If you hesitant before naming your (too-low) price, and fill your item descriptions with apologies, I’m going to feel very unsure about making a purchase.

Likewise, if you re filling up your social network statuses with apologies, or avoiding talking about yourself altogether, I’m not going to be able to know if I like the person behind the item or not. I won’t feel compelled to hang out with you and your social network platform, because it doesn’t seem like even YOU would want to hang out with you.

Don’t allow your fear of bragging interfere with your ability to be confident. Understand that there is a difference between being an egotistical jerk (they tend to put down other people’s work) and being sure of yourself and your products. People want to buy and hang out with self-assured people. It is, after all, contagious.

Say it with me now:

I am AWESOME.
My products are INCREDIBLE.
So, of course you want to BUY FROM ME.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “Confidence is Sexy

  1. Sandy Savard August 29, 2012 at 8:33 am Reply

    Megan, Your work is beautiful! I agree that confidence is very important. If we don’t feel good about out products then why should a stranger? In personal relationships who wants to keep reassuring someone about themselves? We are all beautiful and fabulous in our own way and what we sell is unique and beautiful!

  2. Ana@ChanelledCreations August 29, 2012 at 8:46 am Reply

    What a very important topic, and self assuring too. I think a lot of people will benefit from reading this. Thank you and you rock and are wonderful too!

  3. Peggy Martinez August 29, 2012 at 10:48 am Reply

    Never thought of it this way, thanks for the self-confidence boost…awww

  4. Dorene August 29, 2012 at 8:19 pm Reply

    You are so right! There’s nothing that turns me away than an owner complaining all the time!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns August 30, 2012 at 8:05 am Reply

      Exactly, not a fun shopping experience when you are being told how much everything sucks. :-/

  5. Cindy Breninger August 30, 2012 at 11:35 am Reply

    What a great reminder!

  6. imagesbycw17 August 30, 2012 at 11:53 am Reply

    Awesome article! Thank you for reminding me to rethink.

  7. simplykatielynn September 1, 2012 at 11:06 am Reply

    Great article. Thanks

  8. twistedpixelstudio September 1, 2012 at 11:15 am Reply

    I must be one sexy momma! LOL. Its so very true that if you don’t toot your own horn no one else will either! Thanks Megan for a great post. Now come hang with me. ;)

  9. anji peterson September 2, 2012 at 12:30 pm Reply

    great reminder of how important we have to be to ourselves before we or our work can be special to others. i’m not talking about conceit but self confidence. creativity requires the confidence to DO IT. hesitation is reflected in our work as well as in our personalities. let yourself show people how talented you are! when you love it they will! Megan you are so right ! glad i followed your post–we all need reminders of how powerful our thoughts are. our brains are the sexiest parts we have. enjoy the holiday weekend!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns September 3, 2012 at 3:34 pm Reply

      Glad I could help! Thanks so much for the comment! (Having a GREAT weekend!!)

  10. H. S. Contino September 2, 2012 at 4:01 pm Reply

    Awesome post! I have to confess that I’m one of those artists that has trouble tooting her own horn. I really need to work on my shyness and lack of self-confidence. Thanks for the new matra: “I am awesome. My products are incredible. So, of course you want to buy from me.”

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/ReprievesCorner

    • MegansBeadedDesigns September 3, 2012 at 3:36 pm Reply

      Repeat those words to yourself whenever necessary! I too have struggled with shyness, and it can really bring down you ability to get yourself and your products out there. That’s why confidence in yourself and what you sell is ever so much more important.

      Glad I could help give you a boost! We all need one once in awhile!

  11. Carol Jenks September 3, 2012 at 8:03 am Reply

    Very well said, Megan. I do a lot of craft shows and love what I do. While variety is the spice of life, I make sure that my products are quality as well as useful. Confidence is very important in that if you aren’t confident that your products are great, noone else will be either.Thanks for your article and reminder to others. Very important for each and every one of us to know our own value.

  12. mauveinesilk September 5, 2012 at 6:51 am Reply

    I know I’m my own best advertising by wearing things I’ve made myself, but I feel very self conscious about it for some unknown reason. I need to throw on a scarf every time I go out (and keep plenty of business cards handy!)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns September 5, 2012 at 8:04 am Reply

      That is a great way to advertise what you do! Don’t be ashamed to wear your stuff, it’s AWESOME after all!

  13. A. Sparkle September 8, 2012 at 1:57 pm Reply

    Ok, so…….. I really needed to hear that right now. Just today I passed up the opportunity to pass out a business card. :( I see that it’s time to woman up and let people know that my stuff is great and I love what I do!! *fist pump in the air!!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns September 8, 2012 at 1:59 pm Reply

      I know it is so hard in person, I struggle with the same thing! But we need to remind ourselves how AWESOME our stuff is, so it’s really not nice to pass on the opportunity for other people to get to see it. Right? ;-) Share the awesomeness!

  14. Susannah Brin September 16, 2012 at 2:42 pm Reply

    I think you are absolutely right, you have to believe in yourself and your product and one way to do this is

  15. Susannah Brin September 16, 2012 at 2:42 pm Reply

    Sorry didn’t finish the sentence above. One way to learn confidence is just to start doing it.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns September 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm Reply

      Exactly, fake it till you make it is very helpful when trying to be more confident. Thanks for your comment!

  16. […] is that it doesn’t exactly instill confidence from others into our business. We all know that confidence is sexy, and that we have to be the biggest believer of our goods in order to convince others to do the […]

  17. […] what a difference being confident about our own work can make for our business and our bottom line. Confidence is sexy after all, and it attracts followers, fans, and […]

Leave a Reply

