The Benefits of Being an Unorganized Crafter

Meticulous attention to detail.

Obsessive desire for organization and order.

Lists and planning.

Set deadlines and detailed steps.

Mapped out calendars with what to do on what day.

Supplies all categorized and placed where they need to be for easy access.

Even eating and sleeping are scheduled.

I know some crafters who complain that they spend too much of their time fussing over the above. I don’t have a problem with that, in fact, my problem is a LACK of these things. I have to FORCE myself to keep track of my accounting so it doesn’t pile up for me at end of each month (or year). I usually wait until my crafting room becomes a complete disaster straight from a rated R horror film before attempting to create some semblance of cleanliness out of it. I often create what I feel like creating, only to scramble to make the items I realize I am lacking right before a craft show or holiday season.

It’s a problem to a point, and it’s a blessing to a point.

For a few years I was working part time in the apparel section of a big box retail store. I would cringe every time my manager would tell me that they had just hired someone new and “she should be good because she is so obsessive-compulsive with her own closet.” Honestly, while these employees would do a good job making a small bit of the store look organized and clean, their issue was that they often couldn’t handle everything that they were assigned to do in a timely manner.

Me, being the opposite of the OCD employees, could fly though every section of apparel and straighten at a much quicker pace, while simultaneously keeping up on the dressing room and assisting customers. The fact that I didn’t stress over every single pair of pants being perfectly in line, prevented me from falling behind, and I never felt as overwhelmed as my co-workers on our super busy days.

As a business owner, my type B personality comes in handy while I juggle all of the requirements to create, promote, and network for the benefits of my products. I don’t stress as much about blogging, social networks, custom orders, listing, photographs, and my day job because I don’t hone in on the details or worry about everything being perfect before I can throw it out there. In the words of the Nike branders, I just do it.

So if you are more of a type B as well, you might want to think about the benefits that we have. Sure, we have to try a little harder to organize and schedule, but we also don’t have to deal with as much stress over things that don’t really matter in the long run. Often, we can handle a much bigger workload with greater ease. I’m NOT saying that admitting to being unorganized would be a wise thing to proclaim at a job interview, or that you shouldn’t strive to keep things more orderly, but just that there is positive side to every flaw – even that messy craft table.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “The Benefits of Being an Unorganized Crafter

  1. Sally-Ann Livingston (@Reikiblossom) July 9, 2012 at 10:17 am Reply

    Ah, that makes me feel a little better about myself, thankyou! I do tend to view my pile o’ materials, which are partially ordered, as inspirational though. When I see piece A next to piece G, I get ideas. I try to do what is in front of me, prioritizing in a very human manner. That’s really the trick, isn’t it? The skill of prioritizing in such a way as benefits your business (etc) to the best of your ability. Good post, thanks.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns July 9, 2012 at 11:58 am Reply

      Exactly! It’s all about learning to prioritize the most important tasks FIRST, followed by the minor details later. :-)

      • Ayliss July 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm Reply

        Its good to find a partner who can take care of the business and organization side of things .. unfortunately i forgot that tip. but i do have a great source of eye-candy in a partner who makes up for my ‘mess’. this is also very important for creative types who like to see beauty in the world ;)

  2. SaturdaySequins July 9, 2012 at 12:30 pm Reply

    What a great take on organization!

    As someone who’s smack dab in the middle of both approaches (a little OCD about some things, but super duper messy and unable to follow a schedule) I can definitely see the advantages of not being a perfectionist. When I fuss over little details too much I end up unhappy and unproductive. When I just do it, as you put it, I make more progress.

    Sometimes perfectionism is just a form of procrastination. ;)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns July 10, 2012 at 8:10 am Reply

      An excellent saying! I think I’ll steal it an make a motivational poster out of it… :-)

  3. wendy July 10, 2012 at 7:15 am Reply

    Have to show this to my very tidy husband! I really agree with Sally-Ann’s point about inspiration. Sometimes a random box of thread with colors all mixed up make me see them in a new way and I come up with combinations I would never have thought of on my own.

  4. Natalie July 11, 2012 at 1:58 am Reply

    I’m a bit from column A and a bit from column B I would say. When it comes to my employment, I am usually pretty organized…lists etc. Same with most of my day-to-day activities..I usually have a “list” in my head of what I should/would like to get done.

    With my own business though..things are pretty unorganized haha. I am just now turning our spare room into a functioning office…4months after moving in. My accounting is piling up..I have loads of stuff I should be forcing myself to finish before I start my new job on Monday..but eh, a little unorganized on that. haha.

    I’m pretty good with change and things popping up, but I can’t say I’m really more one than the other.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns July 11, 2012 at 8:09 am Reply

      Accounting is my biggest pitfall too. Need to work better on keeping up with it! Spreadsheets with easy-to-fill-in blanks help s bundle!

Leave a Reply

