My Biggest Facebook Pet Peeves

So I’m going to take a moment to lash out about my personal Facebook account.

Yes, I’m annoyed that not all of the people who like my page get to see my posts and yada, yada, yada. But that’s another topic for another post.

This is a purely personal rant about the actual Facebook wall I have tried to suffer through filled with posts from my own family and friends. These are people who I LOVE in real life, and have to resist the urge to virtually punch in cyber space.

I’m sure you can relate to a few of these annoyances. Also, if you are one of these people who do one of the following, please don’t be offended. Clearly, there are enough of you out there who do these things, so you can all be Facebook friends with each other and have a good time.

1. Posting picture after picture of a HILARIOUS dog and/or cat with a funny caption every 10 seconds. These aren’t even your pictures. Seriously? Create a board on Pinterest, share the board on Facebook ONCE, then everyone who is interested can go check it out. As is you are just cluttering up my wall and I have to unsubscribe from you.

Even though Fluffy is pretty adorable in that 57th picture you posted within the last hour. Resist.

2. Posting hoax statuses. (E.g. if you post this legal jargon your Facebook profile is protected! or: Starbucks hates the military!) *sigh*

Do you know how fast the interest is? Did you know that you can press CTRL+T and open up a new tab in less than a second? You can then do a Google search on that new tab, taking less than 30 seconds, and find out if that shyte is real or not BEFORE you re-post! Pretty cool huh? Now try it!

What’s even worse is I’ll post the Snopes link (or whatever other proof) as a comment underneath these posts, and the original posters doesn’t remove the post, OR admit that he or she is wrong. Just keep spreading the rumors people! Sorry I even tried!!!! (<-exclamation points for emphasis!!!)

*breathe*

Okay.

3. Shameless white people problems. You know what I’m talking about.

“OMG! I hate my iPhone! The stupid battery dies too soon. My parents better get me a new one for my birthday! FML!”

Seriously?! SERIOUSLY!?!?! First of all: you’re alive and healthy. Second of all, you have PARENTS and they are the kind of parents who buy you expensive gadgets like COMPUTERIZED phones just because you were BORN? You’re an upper-middle class white male/female, who lives in a comfortable home with a great, supportive family and you think that your life needs to be *effed* because your phone battery won’t last longer than 12 hours so you can keep playing angry birds????

Stop it. Just stop it. We all need the occasional first-world rant once in awhile, but when you are constantly complaining about your non-problems I get depressed about the planet I am living on. Some people have cancer. Some people are fighting for their lives. Just think about that when wording your posts. I’m not saying you can’t complain about your favorite sitcom getting canceled, just complain about it in such a way that doesn’t make you look like a self-centered douche bag.

Try: “Aww, man. I’m sad that Alcatraz got canceled!”

Not: “Retarded network! They canceled Alcatraz! I might as well kill myself now.”

4. Attention craving posts. Don’t you just hate is when someone posts “I’m so sad right now” so someone kind and caring responds with “What’s the matter? Everything okay? Anything I can do to help?”

You know what’s coming, that awful reply: “I don’t wanna talk about it.”

THEN DON’T POST IT ON FACEBOOK TO BEGIN WITH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Head >>>>>>> Desk.

I give up.

What are YOUR Facebook pet peeves?

14 thoughts on “My Biggest Facebook Pet Peeves

  1. Heather July 5, 2012 at 8:22 am Reply

    Omg I could write a book on what things drive me nuts on Facebook! Like the person who needs to complain about every single thing ever that happens in a day, the political activist, and the person who uses their status as a personal daily agenda (unless I plan to stalk you, why do I need to know your daily work schedule, seriously?). But the WORST is the person who needs to show off everything like Facebook is their personal episode of Cribs. “Look at this awesome $2 million real 3D projector mega screen tv I bought for my personal theater today!” (ok slight exaggeration, but you get it). Nobody cares about the ridiculous amount of money you spent on your new toy that you’ll be bored with in a month. Oh and don’t forget the person who invites you to EVERY Facebook scam event EVER! Get a billion dollar gift card to Target if you just join this event! Jason Statham will sleep with you if you join this page! OMG! (thank god for the “block all invites from so and so” button!). Ok ranting is over ;D

  2. Nicole July 5, 2012 at 8:23 am Reply

    i agree with all your rants as stated above. ugh. there is this guy on FB Im friends with who finds it necessary to post pics of his kids a gajilion times a day – no kidding. and they are not even interesting photos. just random photos of little people doing random stuff. and no captions so you have no clue what is so interesting that they are doing. annoying.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns July 5, 2012 at 10:29 am Reply

      Exactly. Sure your kids are cute. I like kids, and I may even like your kids, but a a new picture of them playing every ten seconds? Save it for the “special moments” that are worth sharing please.

  3. Frenchie Leigh July 5, 2012 at 8:28 am Reply

    My biggest FB pet peeve (you really hit all the nails on the head here) is when people bitch about the opposite sex and how everyone is ‘the same’. No, not all men are the same. You just can’t detach yourself from the negative influences in your life, so you never realize a truly good man when you see one. Move away from the mirror, lose the duck face, and for the sake of all that is good, put on some clothes.

    End.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns July 5, 2012 at 10:28 am Reply

      Oh yes, I have a couple of dude friends that I finally had to delete because of their “all girls just want money” posts. Uhm. Offensive much?

  4. Sarah (Saturday Sequins) July 5, 2012 at 12:24 pm Reply

    I’m always irked when people invite me to play games (in my free time???) and unfollow/unfriend me when I decline. It’s like… really? That’s your measure of a loyal friend? “Gee, Bob. I know you gave me that kidney and all, but you wouldn’t play Angry Birds with me, so I’m cutting you loose.” So silly.

    Also, I noticed that July 4th brought out the crazy in a lot of folks. People who are normally sane posted all kinds of political stuff that was offensive, racist, and completely untrue. So I’ve decided that on any kind of holiday involving patriotism, and probably during the election, I’m taking a Facebook vacation!

    • Emma July 5, 2012 at 3:36 pm Reply

      Those invites for games are the worst.. I used to get like 5 invites in a day until i found out that i could block invitations for that game.. but that still doesn’t stop people from finding new ones and posting them to me!

  5. chantalzola July 5, 2012 at 11:42 pm Reply

    I’m seriously considering deleting my Facebook account. Most of the time it just depresses me! And then all of the game notifications… I don’t play any of those games, I don’t care you have a new fake cyber penguin =(

    • MegansBeadedDesigns July 6, 2012 at 9:22 am Reply

      Yeah I tired to play a couple of them when I first got on Facebook – they demand WAYYYY too much time. I can’t believe there are people out there with the time to try so many of them!

  6. Between The Weeds: LRStudio July 6, 2012 at 8:06 am Reply

    The only reason I have an account and pages is because of my art. But I don’t think it is doing anything to help me in that area. I personally would like to delete cancel and disconnect myself from it. I so agree with your peeves…all of them. Do you think it helps promote your gorgeous art? Just curious.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns July 6, 2012 at 9:24 am Reply

      Having a Facebook page to promote you work is a great method of getting it out there. I get a lot of traffic from my business page. You just have to work hard on posting lots and lots of non-promotional updates so you stay visible in people’s feeds. (Facebook like to hide posts with links in them, for example.)

Leave a Reply

