The Words You Choose to Describe Yourself

I can tell if you think you are an attractive person or not by what words you choose to use when describing yourself. For example:

Do you use “fat” or “curvy”?

Do you use “skinny” or “slender”?

Do you use “brown” or “brunette”?

Do you use “flat-chested” or “dainty breasts”?

Do you use “short” or “petite”?

I could go on, and on. I am sure you could too.

Here is a mind-blowing FACT:

Female consumers account for 85% of all purchases. (source) That means that most companies want to cater to their female audience, and are smart to do so.

As a businesses owner, I know that most products are made to fulfill a need or want of some kind. For example, a coat fulfills the need to stay warm on a cold day. A PRETTY coat fulfills both that need, and the want to look attractive while staying warm at the same time.

Particularly beauty products are presented in a manner to fix a problem. Foundation is sold to correct an uneven skin tone. There are a million-and-one brands of shampoo out there, promising everything from correcting split ends to transforming the texture of your hair.

Sometimes [read: OFTEN], there is no apparent need, so one has to be created in order to sell a product. I remember being baffled by a “moisturizing” deodorant commercial from Dove, and then I clapped my hands in joy when Stephen Colbert called them out for trying to make girls feel insecure about their underarms (something we hadn’t even thought to be worried about before):

Now I’m not trying to say that you hate yourself if you buy beauty products or pretty clothes. I’m not one of those anti-feminine-feminist types who damns all wearing of high-heels as a submission to men (although I respect that opinion). But I do propose that we take a look at the “negative” traits we think we have, and try to see the positive side to them. Chances are, there is more good than “bad” there.

For example, I have very fair skin. I may make the occasional crack in regards to being a nocturnal vampire, but overall I don’t see my skin-tone as a negative thing, regardless of how fashionable it is to be tan these days. I buy sun screen, not bronzer to “correct” my non-problem. in other words, I choose the word “fair” over the word “pale,” and it makes all the difference.

See? I’m not saying don’t give into the man and go all natural like you mother did in the 60s (unless you want to, then by all means). Just try to think about which products you buy and will enhance what you have, not try to cover it up or “fix” it. If you start using words to describe yourself in a positive light, you will discover that those things you think are “flaws” are, in fact, desirable. Eventually you will focus on ways you can draw attention to them instead of the constant struggle to change them.

Tagged: , , ,

10 thoughts on “The Words You Choose to Describe Yourself

  1. Heather June 27, 2012 at 7:38 am Reply

    Amen for that! I too have very fair skin and I have long since traded the bronzer for sunscreen. While all the beach babes with deep tans look like my mother’s Italian leather handbag when they’re 50, I will still have soft skin :) And I don’t let consumerism make me feel self conscious about my curves or my underarms either, lol! I’ll continue to eat my grilled chicken sandwich with mayo and french fries and enjoy it, check please!

  2. Nicole June 27, 2012 at 12:30 pm Reply

    Fantastic post! I tend to say that I am so fail skinned, i reflect the sun. No tanners here, I protect the skin I’m in with lots of sunscreen.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns June 27, 2012 at 12:42 pm Reply

      Sunscreen is the way to go! Burns suck and I’d rather not tempt skin cancer. ;-) lol

  3. Emma June 27, 2012 at 5:34 pm Reply

    The girls that I see walking around who are lathered in that fake tan stuff… I love being fair skinned! I saw something on Pinterest the other day that your post reminded me of..
    “There is a fine line between a fake tan and looking like you have rolled in a bag of doritos!” – it cracked me up!

  4. Barbara June 28, 2012 at 12:00 am Reply

    I’m Italian & live in Florida. My driving arm (& thigh) are 2x as dark as the rest of me! But I’m still a natural, not into make-up at all.

  5. anjelicadesigns June 28, 2012 at 4:34 am Reply

    Loved the post…thank you. What would be your take on creating a need around wearing jewellery. Would love to hear from you. Have yourself a fantastic day.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns June 28, 2012 at 7:39 am Reply

      I think that the jewelry we select can be an artistic way of expressing our personality. Unique accessories to match our unique nature. :-) I feel like we should wear jewelry if we like wearing jewelry, and wear the style we like, not necessarily what we are being told is “trendy” right now.

      • anjelicadesigns June 28, 2012 at 9:04 am Reply

        Thank you, fully agree so it’s fulfilling a need to express our own individuality and uniqueness through what we choose to wear, including accessories, and at the same time feel good about the way we look to ourselves and the image we portray in the world.

Leave a Reply

