Internet Battle Ready

Disagreements in the real world make me sad and melancholy. So do disagreements online. Often, the online disagreements are even worse, because they have a harder time finding closure. Without that face-to-face interaction, neither party may feel the urge to apologize or find common ground so that they can move on.

I wish it was easier to not take things to heart, as some individuals have a hard time writing what they mean to say when they are communicating on the internet. It can become far too easy for people to miss-read one another, take a joke as harsh bullying, or find a reason to take something too personally and be offended.

As my small handmade business grows in terms of its internet real-estate, I need to become more comfortable with the internet battles ahead of me. I am probably going to offend some people. Some people are going to disagree with me. Sometimes, people are going to point out what they don’t like about me, right on on my Facebook Page, or right here in my blog comments. It’s gonna happen. And I’m gonna feel a crap-ton of sadness because of it, so I need to prep NOW in order to lesson the blow.

I’m going to throw some insults at myself right here and right now. I figure I may as well start getting used to it, so my feelings aren’t as hurt when the real tomatoes come flying!

Really, Megan? Do you even proof read this shyte before publishing? You only have a thousand spelling errors in a single post.

The crap you make is gross.

I disagree with everything you said about this. In fact, I think you are giving poor advice on purpose you sucky, suck-tard.

You are obviously a reseller. I’m gonna to report the crap outta you!

You couldn’t have possibly come up with this yourself. You must be plagiarizing from something. I will find the source of something that looks hardly even similar and accuse you of copying.

You make ugly shyte.

You are oober lame and boring.

Your face makes me want to barf.

I bet you are really a 50-year-old man, pretending to be a 20-something, so you can sell your crap.

There are so many other people who’s stuff is so much better than yours, I can’t believe anyone would want to buy your crap.

I am right, and you are wrong. (Not even sure what we are arguing about, but THIS is a FACT.)

Gah, clearly this status/post was aimed at offending ME. I now feel the urge to get revenge and tell you how terrible you are.

Hmmm… not sure if I feel any more prepared now or not. But it was worth a shot.

How do YOU deal with internet battles? Are you good at keeping your cool when accused of something you didn’t do, or wasn’t your intention? What about when strangers flat-out tell you how much they think you suck? Is it better to delete and ignore, or try to confront the situation?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Internet Battle Ready

  1. JeannieRichard May 30, 2012 at 8:56 am Reply

    This is actually hilarious and I seriously do not think anyone would say such things about you… period!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns May 30, 2012 at 9:09 am Reply

      Awww… thank you Jeannie. :-) If they do, I’m pretty good about finding the humor in a situation. So hopefully I’ll be ready!

  2. suzieg May 30, 2012 at 9:22 am Reply

    Hmmmm…I’m a “take the high road and kill them with kindness kind of gal….then delete :)

  3. Kindred Images and Creations May 30, 2012 at 11:04 am Reply

    I have been selling online for over 5 years now and I have never come across anyone that has said these things. If they did I agree with Suzie kill them with kindness. Don’t let one bad apple make you ruin your business and your business ethics because they want to start trouble.

  4. Marge May 30, 2012 at 11:11 am Reply

    Hi Megan, found you while listing my blog in one of our teams on Etsy. You are definitely armed and ready, love it! Remember to keep smiling. They will wonder what you are up to. Good luck with both your shop and your blog.
    Marge

  5. Goodnight Boutique May 30, 2012 at 2:14 pm Reply

    I also found you via Etsy.
    I have to say, most people in the handmade world are very kind & enthusiastic :)
    The only negatives I’ve ever had have been via youtube, and it’s easy to laugh it off when you compare the isolated negatives to the mass of positives :)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns May 30, 2012 at 4:26 pm Reply

      it true, next to a lot of positives, a handful of negs can look pretty silly. Thanks for stoppin’ by!

  6. Heather May 30, 2012 at 2:29 pm Reply

    Some people are just super immature and can’t help themselves from acting like 12 year olds! I’m glad you have a good attitude about it if anyone ever decides to tell you that you suck, lol! I had an issue with a seller on Etsy once where I complained about a supply product she sent me that was just horrible and nothing like the picture. I was polite but understandably upset and she responded by harassing me on my FB page and through Etsy. Yeah the report and block buttons were pretty easy to hit. And you know the issue I had with our former captain on the EHB team…. No point in fueling the fire, I mean what can you really do, go all caps lock on their ass?! Hahaha!

  7. Barbara May 30, 2012 at 9:08 pm Reply

    Just remember, ya can’t please all the people all the time. Just be true to yourself & realize these anonymous people can only affect you if you let them.

    PS.-@ Heather, funny as hell!

  8. Karen Petersen May 31, 2012 at 8:18 pm Reply

    Sometimes you need to remember other people are not happy with their situation or lives and the only way they feel better is throwing up on you. As long as you can honestly say to yourself ‘I did the very best I could do.’, your heart is in the right place, let go. Now, go clean that barf off yourself……..wine works well, and connect with someone that makes you feel happy!

  9. technicolorowl June 4, 2012 at 10:29 am Reply

    I haven’t dealt with any internet backlash directed at me via etsy or fb but my last “real” job included lots of internet presence; fb, websites, emails, twitter, blog etc. My mantra was always “less is more” when dealing with disagreements. I’d wait to reply to ugly comments until after I had vented and was cooled down. Then I’d only use relevant, fact based responses with zero emotion. If I was only battling an emotionally charged opinion (you are all pieces of crap etc) I’d just delete, block, report or whatever was appropriate. The people who get off on trolling and being ugly get really bored, really fast if no one engages them! I’m a pretty emotional person, so I just accept that it’s gonna upset me, I’ll gripe about it in the real world, deal with it in the internet world and move on. But I agree with Goodnight Boutique, I have not found any disagreeable people in the handmade and vintage world that is etsy, and that’s a good thing!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns June 4, 2012 at 10:38 am Reply

      Great advice Technic. Walk AWAY from the screen, cool down, and THEN deal with it in a non-emotional fashion.

Leave a Reply

