Happy Birthday to MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Today I am officially 17 24.

At least I’m still on the underside of my mid-twenties, right?

Crap I’m getting old.

And I’m not just saying that because I want the 98% of my readers who are actually older than me to feel bad about themselves. That would be a terrible… wicked thing to do. [insert maniacal laugh here]

I feel old because there is so much I want to do and time goes by so fast. If I asked myself at 12 what I thought I would have accomplished by 24, I probably would have answered that I would be a bestselling author of at least a dozen horror novels and have already traveled around the world a thousand times over. Duh.

Okay, so to be fair, when I was 12 I was planning on being a writer when I “grew up,” and didn’t have the first clue as to what a graphic designer was. But still, I feel lame that I haven’t even attempted to write those novels yet and I’m practically almost 50.

I’ve done a lot of other awesome things though.

I’ve done a little bit of traveling here in the states. I’ve graduated from college and got myself a good job (all before the age of 20, thank you very much.) I’ve fallen in love with the man of my dreams and had my dream wedding. I’ve made some great friends. I’ve run my own handmade business, and I’ve also made some great internet friends.

I’m thinking my 12-year-old-self can suck it. Those novels can wait.


Speaking of my birthday, as a celebration of having been born, I’m giving you guise a sweet coupon. Use FREEBIRTHDAY to get free U.S. shipping from my MegansBeadedDesignsShop. Good for today only, so feel free to take advantage.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

  1. Heather May 23, 2012 at 7:06 am Reply

    Happy birthday! It’s all downhill from here, inching closer to 30, lol! Or at least that’s how I feel being 26! Hahaha

    • MegansBeadedDesigns May 23, 2012 at 8:05 am Reply

      I guess that’s not so bad. They say the 30s is when women reach their sexual and fashionable peaks anyway, so it ought to be fun. ;-)

      • Heather May 23, 2012 at 12:01 pm Reply

        Yeah that is true, I guess 30 isn’t so scary ;)

  2. shimmeshine May 23, 2012 at 8:53 am Reply

    awww…….u made me feel old honey :)
    Happy birthday…….

  3. thebeadden May 23, 2012 at 10:15 am Reply

    Happy Birthday! Now I am feeling old. Sounds like you are well on your way to having a wonderful life. It doesn’t have to be down hill from here. I’m going to be 41 this year and still enjoying life, maybe even a touch more than in my 30’s.
    Have a great day!

  4. madamesaslow May 23, 2012 at 10:41 am Reply

    Happy birthday! As a rockin’ 27 year old life is good on this sie of 25. But 25 was a HARD birthday. I had all the “why am I not where I’m supposed to be?” woes.
    Are you doing anything fun today?

    • MegansBeadedDesigns May 23, 2012 at 11:20 am Reply

      At work til later this afternoon, then my hunny will take me out to my favorite restaurant. Nothin’ to exciting. :-) lol

  5. nitebyrd May 23, 2012 at 6:08 pm Reply

    Happy, happy birthday! You’re a baby!!! My kids are older than you. Hope it was fantastic!

  6. Barbara May 24, 2012 at 8:17 pm Reply

    Happy B’day! Like wine, w get better with age. Much more comfortable in our own skin, as the saying goes. BTW, I have clothes older than you! I’m 52 7 feel like I’m just NOW getting started.

  7. Jaclyn June 20, 2012 at 9:07 am Reply

    I so love this :) If 16-year-old me got a load of 29-year-old me, she’d be soooo disappointed. And yet, I’m insanely happy. I love my life. There are a few little things I’d change here and there, but man, priorities seem very different when you’re a teenager than when you’re a legit “grown up.”

Leave a Reply

