The Snowball Effect

When you are starting a business people tell you there will be a snowballing effect. Be patient, success will come. You just gotta give it that good initial shove, and then once the sales start rolling in they will multiply, right? Well……. sort of.

There IS a snowballing effect, but what they DON’T tell you is that the course you are rolling your ball on is completely uphill. You can’t just give your little ball a push and watch it travel, gathering momentum and getting bigger as it speeds along. You have to be behind it the WHOLE TIME, grunting and sweating, as you force it to move up the steep slope.

You never get to a point where you have to stop marketing and promoting, it is a constant thing that must be done or you will fade away.

You never get to a point where you get to stop coming up with new products because your current line-up is so good it will last you forever – your customers will want to see new shyte, no matter how long you’ve been around or how good your current shyte is.

I remember when my MegansBeadedDesigns shop reached 100 sales and I wondered if it would get any easier to reach my next 100. While I wouldn’t say easier, I will say faster. And faster not because of any other reason than my pushing them along the entire time.

Instead of working less on my business I’ve chosen to work harder at it, but also leaner – cutting out the tasks and busy work that don’t really have a great effect on the big picture. I like to spend my time on what is working, while keeping in mind that what works may evolve over time. For example, I’ve cut out treasury teams that require clicking and commenting on ALL team treasuries. While there was some nice exposure from them, not enough to deserve all of the time they required.

To maintain my upward momentum, I’ve tried to establish a semblance of a routine. I try to make enough items to keep a certain amount in my Etsy shops, post a certain number of times a day to my social networking sites, publish a blog post every weekday, etc. Setting up a basic daily to-do helps to keep me from feeling overwhelmed.

If you are struggling to get the ball moving again, try setting up your own routine. To-do lists with items you can check off will make you feel accomplished. Keep you overall goals in mind to maintain focus, and things will keep moving in the right direction.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “The Snowball Effect

  1. Heather May 16, 2012 at 7:14 am Reply

    Good post Megan, and so true! There are the occasional times when that snowball rolls down a bunny hill and you get to take a breather but I’ve yet to put my feet up and see stuff sell itself, lol! Wouldn’t that be nice though? I too find it really useful to have a to-do list to help manage time and avoid outright chaos! I keep a weekly one near my computer to spread out my workload and I feel I’ve accomplished more that way.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns May 16, 2012 at 10:55 am Reply

      Same here Heather, there are a lot of things I would probably forget if I didn’t wrote them down! lol

  2. Me May 16, 2012 at 7:38 am Reply

    Out can be hard to keep things moving forward… More some during slow times. Keep up the good work.

  3. Between The Weeds: LRStudio May 16, 2012 at 9:38 am Reply

    Thanks for reminding me what it is all about. Love your posts.

  4. MaggieMays Fine Jewelry May 16, 2012 at 3:46 pm Reply

    Megan, you seem to hit everything on the nose. I love your blog! It gives me incentive, ideas, knowledge and actually bumps up my self- esteem as a artisan. I work hard at what I design and yes, there are those days that come by and it takes everything in me to continue. Following your blog and the upbeat you give each of us is a true “artisan”! Thanks for the incentive!

  5. Absolutely Kismet May 16, 2012 at 9:10 pm Reply

    This is exactly what I needed to hear! I’m beginning to roll into summer when I’ll have more time to devote to my shop, and I have a ton of new ideas I need to organize.

  6. designeddecor May 17, 2012 at 4:55 am Reply

    Thanks for the reminder to keep pushing! It does get hard and discouraging at times, need to keep our chins up and throw on the gloves to shove a little harder. I so agree with you about all the teams and all the pinning. I just started a blog and need to be more consistent with that. My goal for the blog is once a week and I have not done that very well. Thanks for the posts!

  7. pearlyqueenbee May 17, 2012 at 7:35 am Reply

    Good post, my problem seems to be not enough time to actually make things when I am forever spending time posting. Then by the time I get there completely frustrated by not creating the inspiration has gone!
    Jackie

  8. Barbra May 20, 2012 at 7:21 am Reply

    Great thoughts! routines are very helpful.

Leave a Reply

