Why Your Tweets are Boring

I’ve had to unfollow a lot of my fellow Etsians on Twitter, because frankly, their tweets tend to be staggeringly uninteresting. Not that I am not guilty of this myself, but at least I’ve become aware of the problem. Now here I am, ready to help you become aware with this blog post. Awareness, or so they say, is the first step to recovery.

Most of us know that we are supposed to mix-up our tweets. Simply tweeting links to our latest listings is a sure-fire way to get un-followed and filed into the realm of the spammers. So we post a link to our newest item. Then we post a link to our latest blog post. Then we post a link to a treasury we have been included in. Then we post an update about what we are having for dinner. Pretty good mix-up, right? Sure. But not if the tweets are boring.

Just like with blogging, there are 2 reasons why people consume online content. (1) To be informed and (2) to be entertained. If I want to shop, I will go to a marketplace web site (like Etsy or Amazon), or a retail website (Like Macy’s or ModCloth), or Google shopping and look for something to buy. I do not go to twitter. I go to twitter for the 2 reasons above. A tweet is boring if it does not fulfill either of those two reasons.

For example, see the boring tweet below:
“Had chicken fettuccine for dinner.”

Ugh, right? Okay, now let’s transform it so it is informational:
“Tried this new chicken fettuccine recipe for dinner,[link] so good!” or “The white wine I picked up from World Market went great with the chicken fettuccine I had for dinner.” or “Turns out cutting down to half a portion of this chicken fettuccine still made me feel full! Yay for cutting calories! [pic]” or “Tonight’s dinner discovery: chicken fettuccine goes great with peppered broccoli. Who knew?”

How about entertaining?
“Chicken fettuccine for dinner. #sorryjeans” or “Is it bad I want to marry the chicken fettuccine I am having for dinner?” or “Chicken fettuccine for dinner. What’s on your plate?” or “The chicken fettuccine I’m having for dinner looks so pretty, I almost don’t wanna ruin it. ALMOST. [pic]”

Do you see the difference? I’m happy to read about what you’re having for lunch, your hatred of Mondays, or your latest workout routine… as long as it’s interesting in some way. Before you hit that tweet button, ask yourself if it informational or entertaining, then send.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Why Your Tweets are Boring

  1. oksana2372 April 23, 2012 at 8:48 am Reply

    You are absolutely right!!! Great post!!!

  2. crazylady87 April 23, 2012 at 8:56 am Reply

    Great post! This is certainly true… Etsy sellers (and I’m one too) are usually the worst! I’ve had to unfollow several because they would only post Etsy links (and sometimes it would be 5-10 per minute!). Another sure-fire way to get unfollowed – post a TON of boring Tweets. Then, not only are you boring, you also are choking out all of my other Tweeps…. (oh, and follow me! @almiart I follow back anyone who’s not a spammer!)

  3. Susie Tenzer April 23, 2012 at 5:18 pm Reply

    Megan! love this post! I’m not good at coming up w/clever tweets so I don’t do it often.

  4. Karineh April 23, 2012 at 8:42 pm Reply

    I tweet but maybe not so interesting and entertaining way. I know I can tweet about everything and anything, I just don’y see why anyone would be interested to know what I had for dinner. I think it’s because i’m from another culture but I will do my best to get better at it.

    I’ve had a few people unfollow me this month although I have gained a few as well. Thanks for posting this!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns April 24, 2012 at 8:10 am Reply

      You’re welcome Karineh, glad i could help!

      I will say it’s not expected that you tweet about mundane things (such as what you had for dinner), but IF you do, make sure it’s fun to read! :-) Hope that makes sense!

      • Karineh April 24, 2012 at 8:49 am Reply

        Thanks Megan, I understand. I don’t think I am boring person in life (lol)! so I will try to transfer that in to my tweets..

  5. Sue Martin (@WelcombeGlass) April 24, 2012 at 2:33 am Reply

    Thank you so much for your advice. It has certainly made me think a little more about my tweets. Hopefully a lot more interesting & entertaining in future!

  6. Eileen Fields April 25, 2012 at 11:43 am Reply

    Sounds good, I don’t tweet much I’ll keep it in mind.

  7. Heather April 26, 2012 at 11:10 am Reply

    Yeah I ditch people who either promote x10 or who are just not interesting at all. I mostly look on twitter for links to biz articles, what’s new in a few shops I like, and reading a tweet or two that makes me smile is peachy too :)

  8. Marge May 21, 2012 at 11:35 am Reply

    Thanks for your insight. I am new to tweeting and will definitely take your advise. Do you realize this will spawn a whole new genre of creative writers! :)

  9. […] with you. You’ll get twitter followers who will actually read and click on your tweets if you keep them interesting. You’ll get blog followers who will actually look forward to reading your posts if you are a […]

Leave a Reply

