You Shouldn’t Wear Platforms when the Elevators are Broken

Bad move on my part, wearing my towering platform boots to work on the day when BOTH elevators malfunction and have to be closed. But my goodness I looked fabulous while slowly taking on those flights of stairs one careful step at a time.

Other such sacrifices for fashion include: false nails that are sure to pop off the moment I attempt to open a car door, cinching corsets that restrict my airways, vintage clip on earrings that beg beg me to scream bloody murder, and liquid eyeliner determined to make into way into my iris in an obvious effort to cause blindness. (Seriously, Eyeliner, who do you think you are kidding?)

I haven’t even begun to mention the burning and bleaching and poisoning and slicing I do to my poor locks of hair. But my goodness this new shade of strawberry blonde looks FABULOUS in curls, does it not?

Headband Available in my Etsy Shop!

What about you? What rituals of torture do you practice in the name of fashion?

Tagged: , , ,

16 thoughts on “You Shouldn’t Wear Platforms when the Elevators are Broken

  1. masquerade21 April 17, 2012 at 10:12 am Reply

    we both just posted on the same topic/theme, great minds think alike ;)

  2. ninevoltcandy April 17, 2012 at 10:18 am Reply

    Summer’s coming. This means So. Much. Waxing. :( Im not looking forward to it– can I just move to Siberia instead?

  3. bluepearlgirl's world April 17, 2012 at 11:01 am Reply

    I had to have a heel funeral when my back no longer allowed me to wear them anymore. I am still mourning not being able to buy one cute pair of heels! I needed them for the false illusion of height too! I have quit dying my hair. The liquid liner, there are tricks for that but the best advise is to find a gel pot liner. It slicks on well but doesnt run into those sensitive eyeballs! Nails were done in high school. I am to the point of barely being able to dress to the nines due to the back issue so i guess that and everything that goes with it. good blog!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns April 17, 2012 at 11:21 am Reply

      Awww… I dread the day I’m told I can’t wear my heels anymore! So sorry to hear about your back issue!

      Also, glad you like my blog! Thanks for visiting! :-)

      • bluepearlgirl's world April 17, 2012 at 12:33 pm Reply

        anytime and always! It was truly like a funeral the day i had to go get flat shoes i could stand all day working in while that season there were the CUTEST dang strappy sandals out. It is still painful to me at this date. Thank heavens i have since attained a severe love for certain sneakers!

  4. Heather April 17, 2012 at 11:46 am Reply

    Can’t say I do too many tortourous things to myself for fashion other than the occasional itchy sweater that I HAD to have even though it’s itchy or when I Nair my legs in the summer even though I’m allerigic to it. I HATE shaving every stinking day and I’m Italian, and it shows, LOL! Oh and for craft shows and holidays I force myself to use mascara and pray I don’t get it in my eye…

    No heels for me, I’d break off my foot for sure!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns April 17, 2012 at 12:16 pm Reply

      OMG, Nair is the DEVIL. It gave me some chemical burns that hurt like like a you-know-what, and Ihaven’t gone back since! LOL

  5. Sandy April 17, 2012 at 12:21 pm Reply

    You give new meaning to Beauty Kills! ;0)

  6. artsings1946 April 17, 2012 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Your hair looks fabulous … wouldn’t wear any high shoes … stick to birkenstocks and flats …. don’t let the man tell you how to look … you are beautiful just the way you are without torturing yourself.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns April 17, 2012 at 1:58 pm Reply

      Oh don’t worry, no “man” tells me how to look, I wear what I like. ;-) Unfortunately I happen to be very drawn to platform high-heels.

  7. Emma.J April 17, 2012 at 6:33 pm Reply

    I must say, I am always restricting my airways with corsets and CONSTANTLY stabbing myself in the eye with my eyeliner pen!

  8. Barbara April 17, 2012 at 7:33 pm Reply

    Comfort is my style. I have a love of flip flops. HATE shoes, my feet rebel! Don’t do make up. @ Heather, don’t worry, one of the joys of aging is you won’t have to shave as often. I’m also a dark Italian with black hair & used to have to shave EVERY day too-5 ;00 shadow of the legs. Now I’m 52 & only need to shave 2x a wk. :) And I*’m in FL & ALWAYS in shorts.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns April 18, 2012 at 8:09 am Reply

      Hmm… not a fan of flip flops. I can’t seem to find a pair that won’t cut into the skin in-between my toes. Is there a trick to making them not do that?

Leave a Reply

