How Beading Challenges Keep Me Creative

My Entry for the EtsyBeadweavers "Destinations" Challenge

Creative competitions abound for me in this month of March. I’ve entered a necklace into the Etsy Bead Weavers “Destinations” challenge (today is the last day to vote for your favorite!) And I’ve made a bracelet for the Etsy Hearts Beads team 1st ever bead challenge “Spring’s Eternal.”

Contestants for the Voting of EtyBeadweaver's March Challenge

The great thing about these challenge competitions is that they are both challenging and inspiring. It’s hard for an idea to not instantly pop into my head when I read the description of a challenges’ theme. Sometimes, that’s all it takes when you are stuck for what to create. In a sense, challenge competitions work in the same way homework assignments do. If you commit yourself to doing one, you have to FORCE yourself to do it by the deadline. Unlike some free-for-all creative writing you are doing on the side, it’s like disciplining yourself to get that research paper done by next Friday or else!

My Entry for the EtsyHeartsBeads team "Spring's Eternal" Challenge

Sometimes, even if there currently isn’t a “homework assignment” for me to sign up for, I might give myself one as a means of making sure I am constantly producing. For example, I’ll tell myself to make something inspired by a certain movie, season, or holiday, and give myself the due date of the end of the week. This helps to keep my ideas fresh, and to keep me excited about what I am making. Call me a nerd, but there were quite a few research paper I actually got excited about when I was going to school. More often than those though, I was excited for project assignments in my art classes. Why stop with graduation? If deadlines and guidelines help to keep you going, decide on your next project as if it were a challenge contestant.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “How Beading Challenges Keep Me Creative

  1. artsings1946 March 15, 2012 at 12:57 pm Reply

    Hi, I had a longer comment but I have a problem with wordpress. Sorry….it’s not the easiest blog for me to use, my daughter loves it though. Thanks for this post.

    Happiness to all.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns March 15, 2012 at 2:09 pm Reply

      LOL, I used WordPress first, so I’m more comfortable with it than Blogger. Maybe that has something to do with it. lol

  2. organdie March 15, 2012 at 12:59 pm Reply

    This rings so true with me – lovely post. Great beadwork too! :)

  3. Meg Thompson March 15, 2012 at 5:44 pm Reply

    Thanks for this post, some great ideas! I know I’m one to struggle with getting things done because there’s no deadline, I get what you mean about doing challenges. They really help!

  4. Mari Hill March 16, 2012 at 12:19 pm Reply

    Oh how fun I love those bead challenges…they are all so beautiful. But your piece is wonderful, did you use bead weave? It is a Winner in my books…:)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns March 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm Reply

      Aww… thanks so much Mari! I used brick stitch beadweaving to create the center piece, which I designed beforehand.

  5. catbird365 March 16, 2012 at 2:47 pm Reply

    Your work is beautiful I’m still learning the beading craft so you inspire me to keep learning. Oh and I thought I was the only one who got excited about doing research papers in school :)

  6. MyAmari March 17, 2012 at 9:18 pm Reply

    Thank you so much for sharing-I think I gotta give this a try! Such a great way get motivated and actually FINISH a project.

Leave a Reply

