Selling From My Own Website

Okay this is awesome. Referred by April of Regretsy, I opened up a small store on WePay. The site itself is pretty ugly. (The justified text! OMG!) But the awesome part is this: it’s super easy to embed your items into a mini store and add them to your own web site. You pick the size of your thumbnails, the number of rows & columns, and then boom – your done! They give you a code and you can simply copy and paste it into your own web site.

The cost? 3.5% of your total sales. That’s right: NO LISTING FEES! I am pretty excited about it, it’s even made me draw some attention back to my website (my much neglected web site) because it now has a mini store in it. Pretty nifty!

Not to mention, if you want to set up your own little WePay store, if you do so by following my referral link HERE, you will get $10 with the first item you sell. Pretty fantastic, right? Who doesn’t like FREE MONEY?

I’m hoping they will change their policy on no digital downloads (aka: no patterns), but until then, I still think it’s the easiest way to import a store to your own web site that I’ve come across so far!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Selling From My Own Website

  1. Leslie Williams January 25, 2012 at 8:49 am Reply

    thanks so much for the info! I’m gonna check it out. :)

  2. artsings1946 January 25, 2012 at 9:03 am Reply

    Thanks for the info. I have to tell you all this tech stuff is so overwhelming for me. I went to the place you told me about to have treasuries in my blog and it hurt my head. Oh well, I’ll have to keep trying. Miss doing my art though.

    Happiness to ALL !

  3. AllThingsTangled January 25, 2012 at 9:40 am Reply

    That is so cool! I’ll have to check it out!

    http://www.AllThingsTangled.blogspot.com

  4. Megha Silvano January 25, 2012 at 9:46 am Reply

    thanks for the info!

  5. Rose January 25, 2012 at 10:05 am Reply

    What a great resource! Thanks for sharing!

  6. professormaelstromme January 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm Reply

    Thanks I will bare this in mind. Have you ever sold on Artfire?

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 25, 2012 at 3:43 pm Reply

      I did when they had the free accounts. Honestly I let mine expire when they phased those out because of a response I got from their admin when I made some suggestions about changing the aesthetic design of the sight. It came across to me as very condescending, and sort of turned me off from selling there. I still visit their forums once in awhile and will occasionally make a purchase form Artfire though, so it’s not like I’ve boycotted them.

  7. Karen D'Andrea January 25, 2012 at 3:48 pm Reply

    Hi Megan,

    I did a review of WePay and it didn’t get great comments. There seems to be a problem with timely payments. Have you researched it and found different?

    Karen

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 25, 2012 at 4:29 pm Reply

      So far I’ve seen more positive reviews than negative, and mostly because the company is trying to do well the things that PayPal doesn’t.

      However, I’ll be sure to give a first-hand account of how the payment processing works when I sell my first item from them. Stay tuned!

      • Karen D'Andrea January 25, 2012 at 9:22 pm Reply

        thanks. By the way, do you have an easy way to get a web page? Not sure it would help me to sell but if I can figure out how to make one, it couldn’t hurt.

        • MegansBeadedDesigns January 26, 2012 at 8:19 am Reply

          While I do all of my own web site HTML & CSS design, I’m sure there are lots of sites that have pre-set templates you could use to start with. Webs.com is one of them (the one I host my site on) and they have templates you can fill out. I personally find it limiting an frustrating to try to work with those un-customizable layouts, but it might be an easy way to start out for you.

  8. paola - fattidame January 26, 2012 at 4:47 am Reply

    Thanks! really interesting ;)

Leave a Reply

