The Epic Battle of Organinzing My Art Room

I am NOT a type A personality. I am messy, unorganized, and have a touch of the absent-minded-professor syndrome in my brain. I tend to be pretty spontaneous when it comes to tackling my list of crafting need-tos. Of course, you know what that means: the things I really, really don’t want to do get pushed aside. I opt to work on my more favorable tasks, like making pretty new items! Cleaning/organizing my art room? Boooooooooooo!

Of course, there comes a point when the mess becomes too much, and is hard to work around. When it takes me longer to dig out and find the supplies I need to make an item than it does to make the actual item, it’s a problem in need of some dealing. Finally, after it gets so bad, and then some, I get to work.

Cranking Rob Zombie helps make the dreaded chore a little easier. I organize by putting small findings and groups of beads into my little plastic storage units, ideally in groups where they can easily be located (and labeled), and the larger masses of fabric and artificial flowers into large plastic bins, grouped by color or texture (and again, labeled for easy-to-be-found convenience in the future.) Not perfect, but much improved, wouldn’t you say? Now I can get back to my favorite part: making pretty things. Let’s see if I can last a WEEK before trashing the place all over again!

Tagged: , , ,

20 thoughts on “The Epic Battle of Organinzing My Art Room

  1. Jessie Yost January 19, 2012 at 8:40 am Reply

    My bead room usually looks like the first picture and, yes, it can be a challenge to work around. I love the painting and love her pose as she overlooks the messy workspace.

  2. Ashley January 19, 2012 at 8:44 am Reply

    The before picture is EXACTLY what my craft area looks like! CRAFTALANCHE!!!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 19, 2012 at 9:23 am Reply

      Whew, glad I’m not alone! lol It took quite a bit of courage for me to post such an embarrassing image!

  3. Edi January 19, 2012 at 9:27 am Reply

    I totally understand! My sister-in-law joked that if I ever go missing, the first place they should check is under a huge pile of paper!
    Your after picture looks great! Good for you for getting organized…makes it much easier to be crafty :)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 19, 2012 at 10:10 am Reply

      Yeah… it only took 3 whole days to finish the job! Thank goodness for the long weekend! lol :-D

  4. nitebyrd January 19, 2012 at 9:57 am Reply

    You did an amazing job! WOW!

  5. madamesaslow January 19, 2012 at 11:29 am Reply

    Funny enough, I’m cleaning my craft room today…. with all the new pics I’ve been taking, I’ve been sort of ransacking and not putting anything away, just on to the next photo. Its bad.

  6. artsings1946 January 19, 2012 at 1:57 pm Reply

    Oh boy, so we all struggle with this. Wouldn’t it be nice if we had a dedicated large studio? I really love altered, assemblage art and have to collect all kinds of “stuff”, and probably won’t use for years, but have to pick them up when I find them. I LOVE IT THOUGH … wouldn’t change being an artists for anything.

    Love and Light and All Things Wonderful for ALL !

  7. Heather @ heversonart.etsy.com January 19, 2012 at 2:35 pm Reply

    Rob Zombie is an awesome motivator! I HATE cleaning too, but my “mild ocd” as my husband so lovingly puts it helps me with that. My need for neatness is greater than my desire to put it off. The dishes however, they can sit in the sink for a day and half, they’re “soaking” LOL!

  8. Pax Design January 19, 2012 at 2:52 pm Reply

    Kudos to you for sharing the “artist at work” look! That accurately describes what’s going on. After all how can you stay neat while you are creating?? For me,the only way I can start a new project is if I clean up my studio space (the basement). Once I start the project all hell breaks loose! Beads, wire, fabric, bits of paper and who knows what else comes flying out of storage bins! I will let it stay messy until the next round of inspiration hits. So my family knows that messy= she’s working on something and neat=she’s about to make a mess!

  9. professormaelstromme January 20, 2012 at 5:51 am Reply

    Looks great :) I try to tidy up after each project so in a way to get my head tidy too ready for the next one. My problem is I work on the kitchen table so just when I think I can crack on and get stuff made someone visits and I have to tidy everything away – waisting valuable time.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 20, 2012 at 8:35 am Reply

      Boo, that stinks. I used to have to do that and I was hardly able to get much done. Having a room specifically for my creating is a wonder. I do keep a bag of “transportable” projects with me I I can crack it out during my breaks at work though. So in a way, I’m still working at “the table” quite often. :-)

  10. catbird365 January 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm Reply

    Rob is one of my favorite task masters, also :)

  11. Karen D'Andrea January 21, 2012 at 10:22 pm Reply

    I think one of the reasons my space stays kind of neat is because I am retired and have all the time in the world to stay organized. However, I will admit it gets pretty wrecked while I am getting a new project going.

  12. Kristyn Michele Bat January 22, 2012 at 9:05 am Reply

    You did a GREAT job! I had a teacher planning day on Friday and finally just did this in my new classroom. I was able to recruit the boyfriend to do the heavy lifting and tall-person stuff, and we just dragged everything out and sorted it on tables, then re-organized. What a difference, but I still have another smaller closet, kiln room, and little office to fix up. :-X

  13. Ioana Sava January 22, 2012 at 4:40 pm Reply

    waw. i can’t believe the first photo. i am crazy if there is not clean around me when i am working. so i start my working day with some cleaning, vacuum, dusting, hihi…in the evening i am ready to start working :D

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm Reply

      Hopefully I haven’t given you nightmares with this blog post! lol

  14. Emma January 25, 2012 at 2:56 pm Reply

    YEEEW! ROB ZOMBIE IS DA BEST!!!

    I saw him live at Soundwave last year – AMAZING!

    The room looks fantastic! I should hit up my roommate about letting me use the spare room as a craft room ;) ha ha!

    Emma
    xXx

  15. […] pile up for me at end of each month (or year). I usually wait until my crafting room becomes a complete disaster straight from a rated R horror film before attempting to create some semblance of cleanliness out […]

Leave a Reply

