Etsy Teams: The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

I’m on a crap-ton of Etsy teams. As of right now, between all 4 of my Etsy shops, I am in over 60 Etsy teams. (I know, right????)And this is after I’ve left a few! Something I have discovered, is that not all Etsy Teams are created equal.

My favorite teams are the ones which are active, helpful, friendly, and not overly demanding. Some of you may remember the treasury team I was booted from awhile ago. It was an awesome team for making and being in treasuries, but the demands of commenting and clicking on EVERY team treasury was just too much for me to keep up with, having a day job and all. So nice, active teams with moderate to low requirements are my preference. Here are a list of my favorites (so far):


Fellow Beaders/Techniques:
Etsy Hearts Beads Team
I’m a leader and manage the team blog, so of course this one is on my list of favs!

Etsy Beadwevaers
The most incredibly talented beadweavers on Etsy in one place. The monthly challenge competitions are truly inspiring and (as their title suggests) challenging at the same time.

Polymer Clay
Filled with tips and lots of eye candy for those who like to work with polymer clay or simply love to buy the items it can be made with!

Blogging/Twitter/Facebook:
Etsy Blog Team
The largest, most active blogging team on Etsy. Daily official threads for new blog posts.

Blogging Buddies
Following lists, and organized, daily lists for blog posts. Plus, active team members who actually LIKE to read other blogs and leave comments!

Etsians of Twitter
Great for follow lists, “tweet the item above you” games, etc.

For Fun/Chit-Chat:
Etsy Thread Killers Team
The closest thing to the old Etc. forums that I have discovered. Some great, supportive members here.

For Treasuries:
Etsy Female Power Team
Cue Beyonce: “Who rule the world? Girls!” An all-female treasury team. Invite-only manages to keep quality photographs and a medium number of members with a variety of listings for treasuries. Requires one treasury a week, but DOESN’T require clicks and comments on all of the other team treasuries, so I’m not completely overwhelmed.

Treasury Friends Team
Requires 1 treasury a month. Lots of quality photographed team items to choose from. Ahhh….. breathing room.

Trading:
Trade-A-Holics
I’m on a couple of trading teams, but this one has the highest number of ACTIVE members who are also experienced traders.

Craft Fairs
Craft Fairs… it’s a living!
Lots of tips on doing craft fairs, and an active number of team members willing to answer questions and give advice. Lots of fun discussion on events that happened at craft fairs too!

Alchemy/Custom Items Requests:
Custom Order Corner
Captain keeps threads on track and stays on top of requests/etc. The best substitute for the missing alchemy.

Local:
Obviously, where you live will determine with local teams are offered to you. There happen to be a couple for in area in the inland northwest, and the Inland Northwest Team tops them by far. We’ve taken our LOCAL and put it to good use, hosting a crafting party, and a team Christmas show. I’m excited to see what else this team will do together!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Etsy Teams: The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

  1. Heather January 11, 2012 at 9:56 am Reply

    Now I can say I’m your blogging buddy too since I joined them not long ago :) Teams are great hey? My shop would never be where it is now without the support of wonderful Etsy teams!

  2. Rose January 11, 2012 at 10:46 am Reply

    This is a great resource. Thanks! I will check out Blogging Buddies and Craft Fairs.

    If you’re looking for another team, check out the Blogging Business Artisans team that I started with five of my favorite ladies on Etsy in the fall.
    http://www.etsy.com/teams/10615/blogging-business-artisans

  3. artsings1946 January 11, 2012 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Oh, I just joined the etsy thread killers team. It looks fabulous and can’t want to get in and read. How do you find the time? I’ve just spent the past two hours sifting through my emails and some of the blogs I’m following!

    Happiness and Abundance to ALL !

  4. nitebyrd January 12, 2012 at 11:39 am Reply

    Teams are good for promoting and helping. You definitely are on a lot of teams! WOW!

Leave a Reply

