Getting Support from Family and Friends

There are some AMAZING individuals out there in the world of the internet. They have done me some HUGE favors by referring my business to their own cyber and social networks. I am supremely grateful for their support. I’m talking about those people who I’ve never actually met face-to-face, but they seem to think that I’m awesome enough to share with those that they have. Super flattering. And super helpful for my online business. My thanks goes out to these individuals ten-fold.

But what about those who I do know in “real life”? My family, friends, co-workers, etc.? In comparison, support from them has been fairly sparse. My grandmother occasionally sells earrings for me at the assisted living center she works at, and my mother-in-law is more than happy to tell people about my business (even in her Christmas newsletter, goodness gracious!), but that about sums it up. I’m not complaining about these people, not in the least bit. My lack of support from them is entirely MY FAULT. Partially a result of shyness, and partially a lack of confidence. I have yet to take the initiative to ASK for their help.

Ways in which I plan on recruiting my friends, family, and co-coworkers to help spread the word of my business:

  • Invite them not only to “like” my Facebook fan page, but also tell them I will ♥ them 4evahhhhh if they encourage their friends to like it too.
  • Give them more than 1 business card, asking them to pass the extras on.
  • Leaving flyers for craft fairs I am attending in the break room at work.
  • Inform friends of my abilities the next time they are needing a service (design work, gift ideas, etc.)
  • Ask friends and family for ideas on what else I could be making and adding to my Etsy shops, that way they feel like they are contributing.
  • Offer friendly “affiliate” type incentives. E.g., “Short on freelance graphic design work right now. If anyone knows anyone who would want me to do some design work for them, I’ll buy you lunch if you recommend me!”
  • Host an open house jewelry party. Send out invites and encourage those invited to invite someone else.

I’m sure I’ll think of more, but that is a fairly substantial list for now. If you run your own business or sell handmade, how do you encourage the people you know to help you spread the word?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Getting Support from Family and Friends

  1. Heather January 10, 2012 at 8:26 am Reply

    That’s great for you and good ideas to spread the word! Were would we be without support hey?

    I actually get more “off Etsy” online support through Pintrest and Facebook Etsy groups rather than my own Facebook page which is fine by me. Attention is attention right? I also give my friends and family (except my hubby’s side of the fam who treats me more like a kid selling lemonade, UGH!) extra biz cards and my ma is my best sales rep! She wears my creations all the time to church and in town and hands out cards to anyone who pays her a compliment. At craft shows I make sure customers know that I also sell online year round and toss a card in their bag. I’ve done a few open house jewelry shows too.

  2. madamesaslow January 10, 2012 at 1:37 pm Reply

    The jewelry party sounds like a great idea. More casual than a “Sale” at my house. Cool.

Leave a Reply

