Easy Ways to Improve Your Product Photography

I’m not going to claim to be an expert on product photography. One quick look at my Etsy shops will show you that I am in much need of improvement in that area myself. Even so, I thought I would share my simple tricks with you in case you are just starting out with taking product pictures and want to make them look “cleaner.”

I’ve found it easiest to take pictures on a clean, white surface. I’ve manufactured a ghetto photoshoot area with pieces of white foam core, held in place with bookends. I use desk lamps to light the area, using white ‘cool” bulbs. (Do don’t want to use “warm” bulbs because it will alter colors and give everything a yellow tinge.)

After taking my pictures (usually 7 or so of each item, that way I can pick out the best 5), I pop them open in Photoshop. The two main editing processes I conduct are cropping (zoom in to the item to create an interesting,angle) and levels. Adjusting to the correct level can make the white background REALLY white. To use levels go to Image > Adjustments > Levels. Click on the far-right eyedropper in the levels window, and click on the background area you want to be white. Boom! Instant white background.

Hope this helps!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Easy Ways to Improve Your Product Photography

  1. intomind January 4, 2012 at 8:21 am Reply

    really helpful post! thanks!

  2. paxdesignjewelry January 4, 2012 at 1:24 pm Reply

    Thanks so much for these ideas. LOVE the bookends as I am always trying to prop things up only to have them cave in.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns January 4, 2012 at 3:23 pm Reply

      Another thing I’ve tried is cutting out a large cardboard box, so it’s only the three corners, and taped the foam core to those corners.

  3. shonette daniels January 4, 2012 at 10:59 pm Reply

    thanks for sharing this post , I can always use tips !

  4. Heather January 5, 2012 at 2:01 pm Reply

    Great info!

  5. […] info and inspiration.  Her two recent posts, How to Make Your Etsy Shop Visually Appealing and Easy Ways to Improve Your Product Photography have fueled the last two days of my work.  I haven’t made anything new, but I’ve made […]

  6. Pax Design January 17, 2012 at 3:33 pm Reply

    Spent the weekend following your advice. I think I got some good shots! Thanks

Leave a Reply

