♥ Hello 2012 ♥

Floating Silver Necklace & Earrings Set - $10

It’s a new year. I went out with friends wearing more glitter and rhinestones than typically acceptable and danced to terrible music to usher it in. So it’s official. Well, it’s been official for 3 days now, I’m just a bit tardy on the whole welcoming committee thing. (Oops.) Plus I’ve been on vaca from my day job until today, so I’m just starting to get back into the groove of the grind. So without any further ado:

Goodbye 2011. Hello 2012!

On January 1st, many a person decides on a thing or two which he or she needs to work on in his or her life, and makes a resolution to enact such a change. A month or two later, the resolution is promptly disregarded. (Most of the time.)

The resolutions CAN be accomplished, IF you stick to them (and if they are realistic enough to begin with.) In 2011, my resolution was to narrow down my number of jobs. By late October, I was able to quit my weekend job and therefore fulfill my resolution. (Hooray!) This year, I have two resolutions, one for my Etsy shops and one for my personal life.

Personally, I’m resolving to keep up on my housecleaning. It hasn’t exactly been a pretty site over the last few months, but if I am able to keep up on it more, than it wouldn’t be such a daunting task when I DO do the housekeeping. Simple enough.

Water Digital Collage Sheet - $1.99

For my Etsy shops, I am going to focus more on my MegansCreativeDesign shop, of which I have been neglecting pretty shamefully over the past year. Its managed to reach 100 sales, but pitifully, considering that most of the digital collage sheets I sell are under $2 and haven’t been updated in several months. I plan on offering more custom Etsy shop design listings, collage sheets, and other branding listings (business card designs, label designs, etc.) It’ll be a lot of work, but I think that by the end of the year it could look pretty spiffed out.

Tip for Keeping Resolutions:
I find that resolutions are easier to keep if you set measurable steps to reach your goals. For example, instead of “lose weight” the goal of “lose 3 pounds a month” is easier to measure and stick with. Instead of “be more active” try “go for a 30-minute run every other day.” So for me, instead of “keep a cleaner house” I might set my housekeeping days on Tuesdays and Fridays. For my Etsy shop, perhaps one new design listing or collage sheet a week. I think that’s doable.

What are your new year’s resolutions for 2012? Can you break them down into measurable steps so that they are easier to keep?

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “♥ Hello 2012 ♥

  1. brittany220 January 3, 2012 at 10:55 am Reply

    So far I’ve been incorporating 20 minutes a day of exercise into my life- 10 minutes walking and 10 minutes running. I’ve been feeling awesome and I really think it’s something I can get used to as a new habit. And for days when I don’t feel like going out I’m sure there are some exercises I can do at home. Hope you’re enjoying 2012 and Happy New Year!

  2. Kate January 6, 2012 at 3:13 pm Reply

    Hey, if you’re gonna wear too many rhinestones, New Years is _definitely_ the time for it.

  3. sheltonpickard January 13, 2012 at 6:24 pm Reply

    You are so right…more obtainable goals is a great way to keep your resolutions.

  4. Emma January 13, 2012 at 11:11 pm Reply

    As I learnt in my Business Traineeship.. goals need to be SMART:

    S – specific
    M – measurable
    A – achievable
    R – realistic
    T – timeframe

    ;) lol

    Emma
    xXx

Leave a Reply

