How to Make Your Etsy Shop Visually Appealing

My MegansBeadedDesigns Etsy shop is pretty eclectic looking, even though its a shop of all beadwoven items. When items are listed by the “Most Recent” default setting, things can look a tad on the messy side. Not every Etsy shop has this problem. In fact, I don’t worry much about it with my Glamour365 shop or my MegansCreativeDesign shop. Their pictures go well enough together without having to be remodeled. However, if your shop is anything like my MegansBeadedDesigns shop, then you too may benefit from a little color coordination.

BEFORE:

Yikes. Kinda scary looking right? Wayyyyy too many colors together like that makes an on-looker’s eyes jump all over the place, unsure of what to rest on.

Because of my multitudes of colors, I opted to organize my shop not by item type, but hue. All I had to do was go to Your Shop > Options (under the Shop Settings menu) > Rearrange your Shop (Select “Enabled”). After the setting has been changed, I can click on “Rearrange my Shop” from my shop homepage, dragging and dropping items wherever I please. It’s pretty magical, really.

AFTER:

Ahhhhhhhhhh. MUCH better! From here I can feature my top 4 items as a theme, or simply of a different color combination than what shows on my first page of items. This way, I am constantly bringing up certain items right to the front without having to completely rearrange my color combinations every few days. The only annoying thing about rearranging your shop to a customized display is that you will have to RE-rearrange an item every time to renew it, because it will appear right at the front each time. A little annoyance I’m willing to put up with, however, for such a cleaner-looking storefront!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “How to Make Your Etsy Shop Visually Appealing

  1. Adriann Saslow December 29, 2011 at 11:49 am Reply

    Neat! Thanks for the tip.

    • madamesaslow January 11, 2012 at 2:05 pm Reply

      Finally did it. That was easy. And though I didn’t think my shop needed it, all the little tweaks added up. Now to take new and better pictures and rearrange all over again!

  2. Heather December 29, 2011 at 12:47 pm Reply

    That’s a really good idea! I usually try to keep seasonal themed items in the first page based on the current season but I never thought of color coding all of it!

  3. paxdesignjewelry December 29, 2011 at 12:53 pm Reply

    Wow! Love the remodel of your shop. Excellent idea.

  4. Ashley December 29, 2011 at 3:36 pm Reply

    This is the best thing ever! I knew you could do such a thing, but I was too lazy to figure out how! THANKS MEGAN!

  5. Vicki December 30, 2011 at 7:38 am Reply

    Very nice placement! I play around with mine all the time to see what works. I follow you on facebook, but am enjoying your blog now too. Happy New Year!

  6. Jessie Yost December 30, 2011 at 9:45 am Reply

    Thanks for the advice – now I just need to spend the time taking better pictures so it will look even better! Your shop looks great!

  7. Natasha Burger December 30, 2011 at 3:41 pm Reply

    what an easy, intuitive way to organize – easy to update and it looks great! and you still have your shop sections if someone wants something in particular and not just window shopping

  8. […] (and affordable) and her blog has provided me with info and inspiration.  Her two recent posts, How to Make Your Etsy Shop Visually Appealing and Easy Ways to Improve Your Product Photography have fueled the last two days of my work.  I […]

  9. […] few days ago, this blog helped me finally figure out how to rearrange my etsy shop. The writer recommended placing like […]

  10. […] (and affordable) and her blog has provided me with info and inspiration.  Her two recent posts, How to Make Your Etsy Shop Visually Appealing and Easy Ways to Improve Your Product Photography have fueled the last two days of my work.  I […]

Leave a Reply

