Latest Project: New Beading Team Blog

Apparently, I don’t have enough on my plate. Juggling my day job, my freelance job, 4 Etsy shops, craft fairs and consignment deals, family and friends, etc., etc., must leave me with too much time on my hands. /Sarcasm ends here. So when Heather, the Captain of the Etsy Hearts Beads team on Etsy, asked me if I would be interested in becoming a team leader, I accepted with enthusiasm.

The team has been lacking in member participation, and as one of the more active members of the team, she seems to think that I can help to turn things around. Being a member of quite a few teams, 36 with my MegansBeadedDesigns shop ALONE, I have a variety of theories on what makes a team more involved and what leads one to stagnation. Because I am an active blogger, she put me in charge of the team blog. This is actually something I’m excited about, all sarcasm aside.

blog preview

I decided to create the blog in Blogger, just because I haven’t used the platform before and wanted an excuse to try it out. I have to say that it’s kind of like going back to using the Microsoft Office programs after getting used to Adobe Creative Suite. (Oh, dear me! is my Geek showing?) Too much hand-holding, user-friendly crap–and not enough customization options. But I’ll get used to it. Blogger does allow JavaScript and more flexible monetizing options, so there are positives aspects to it. (I’m still a loyal fan of WordPress though!) It’ll just take me a little more getting used to.

I’ve barely launched the blog off the ground, but I am excited for everything I plan on doing with it. It will feature treasuries from our team, featured member interviews, tutorials, articles on beading, and other fun tidbits. I think it will grow into an important tool to promote our team and all of the members within. If you feel like sending some of your love our way feel free to drop by to leave a comment, or to sign up as a follower!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Latest Project: New Beading Team Blog

  1. Heather December 9, 2011 at 9:43 am Reply

    Lol I love your thoughts on Blogger! I’m one of those people who has never touched Adobe and I’m more of a “html what?” kind of person! Yeah you can’t do a whole ton with it but I got mine all prettied up for the holidays now! Thanks for the shout out for our team too ;)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 9, 2011 at 9:46 am Reply

      Your blog is GORGEOUS Heather. I look at it and it gives me hope for the possibilities of what can be done in Blogger.

      • Heather December 9, 2011 at 10:59 am Reply

        Thanks! I use thecutestblogonthebock.com for backgrounds and my blinkies and blurbs are from shabbyblogs.com. I love those sites :)

        • Heather December 9, 2011 at 11:00 am Reply

          oops I mean block not bock lol

  2. mj monaghan December 9, 2011 at 2:19 pm Reply

    Congrats on being named the team leader! Great blog!

Leave a Reply

