My 2 Biggest Christmas Gifting Secrets

Not to brag or anything, but I do a pretty SMASHING job of buying people awesome shyte for Christmas. I am basically the queen of gift-giving on a not-so-spectacular budget. There are 2 major resources I use to accomplish this goal. (Aka: my 2 biggest gift giving secrets.) Okay, so maybe neither are very much of a secret, but I got your attention didn’t I? Now read. And LEARN.

Secret #1: Buy Handmade

Artisan handcrafted items are unique, many can be personalized, AND you can feel good about buying them because you are supporting “poor, starving” artists (such as myself!) Between crafts fairs and online marketplaces such as Etsy.com, there is more than enough variety to find something for everyone on your list. Even if you can’t find what you are looking for, chances are there is a line of artists a mile long just waiting for you to ask them to make that certain something! Many artists and crafters take custom orders, and relish the inquiries!

$28.00

$60.00

$20.00

$58.00

$9.00

$7.00

$16.00

$14.00

$30.00

$30.00

$39.99

$25.00

$18.00

$48.00

$30.00

Secret #2: Buy Local

Local, small businesses are fantastic places to get gifts. In my local city of Spokane, WA, there is a plethora of antique shops, novelty shops, clothing boutiques, 2nd hand shops, and art galleries. During these tough economic times, many of these small businesses are hanging by a thread, and need all of the support they can get. And besides, the unique gifts you will find within their selections will generally guarantee that you won’t be buying the same thing for your nephew as your aunt Ruth is (hooray for avoiding awkwardness!) I’ve purchased everything from vintage estate jewelry to Star Trek memorabilia from these places, all of which made much-loved presents for my family and friends. Take a look at your local business directory before hitting the big-box department stores this year. Chances are, you’ll discover gift ideas that will inspire you (and save your budget.)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “My 2 Biggest Christmas Gifting Secrets

  1. Erin / Miri-love December 5, 2011 at 10:49 am Reply

    Totally am with you here! I am also a small business owner/jewelry designer, and I feel strongly that if I want others to support the handmade movement, I should support it as well! For the past two years, it’s been my goal to get at least half – if not more – of my Christmas gifts from independent artisans or small local businesses :) I’ve already been hunting through Etsy treasuries and features to find great gifts for my family – SO much better than a corporate giftcard!

    Love this post :)
    Erin from BloggingBuddies
    http://labellaironia.blogspot.com/

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 5, 2011 at 10:51 am Reply

      All of the artisans and small business you support appreciate your help, I am sure!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and spreading the ♥LOVE♥

  2. Adriann Saslow December 5, 2011 at 11:44 am Reply

    I love shopping local and handmade. I’m also lucky that my mom wants stuff I’ve made, and my mother in law gets knit goods from me, too. My dad is getting a trifecta! I bought him locally made olive oil from a local store that I added chile peppers to purchased from a different local spice shop. Locally made, locally bought, handmade! Woot! And consumable to boot! Consumable presents rock. (You can get them over and over again)

  3. Courtney Rae (@BookCraftShop) December 5, 2011 at 2:02 pm Reply

    YES. Just, yes.

  4. Maggie Flatleu December 5, 2011 at 2:32 pm Reply

    Imagine if we all did that whenever we could!

  5. […] My 2 Biggest Gift-Giving Secrets No longer secrets, apparently, but out there for the world to read. […]

Leave a Reply

