The Daunting Task of the Christmas Newsletter

I’ve recently decided that this is going to be my first year writing a Christmas newsletter. We all get them. We all get bored with enjoy them. I typically don’t have a hard time getting myself to write. (Obviously, you are thinking if you are a frequent reader of this blog.) I often times have to restrain myself from turning these posts into novels.

However, there are still some forms of writing that I can find difficult. It becomes especially tricky when I have to write for a certain, close or general audience. As in, an audience I can’t use the word “shyte” around. As in, the audience who will be reading my Christmas newsletter.

Taking the leap I went ahead and wrote my brief letter blog style. Instead of being all mushy-gushy, I went ahead and voiced my words in my usual, slightly-snarky and semi-ironic way. I did however, refrain from using the word “shyte.” I also designed it with pretty graphics and pictures, so maybe, just maybe, the images will entrance anyone from being offended by my writing style. (Oh, the glorious benefits of being a Graphic Designer!)

You can click the below image to see/read for yourself (background: Nick is my hubby & Jeana is my younger sister who lives with us):

I haven’t printed/mailed these off yet, so if you have any pointers for me feel free to share. Also, I’d like to know if you write your own Christmas newsletter? Do you find it more difficult than regular freestyle writing?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “The Daunting Task of the Christmas Newsletter

  1. Margaret Pierson December 1, 2011 at 5:44 pm Reply

    Looks great! I write out my own Christmas Cards. Create them with a computer software I have. I try and make them personal; depending on who I’m sending the card too.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 1, 2011 at 7:52 pm Reply

      A personal touch is a wonderful thing! Especially in this world of mass-communication!

  2. pronetouncontrollablefitsoflaughters December 3, 2011 at 8:30 am Reply

    Love your letter!

    I don’t write letters or send cards! I sound horrible! I will most likely starting with those traditions when I get married. (Hopefully before next Christmas!)

    • MegansBeadedDesigns December 5, 2011 at 9:53 am Reply

      I held it off until I got married too! lol (so don’t feel horrible!)

  3. Susie Morgan Wilburn December 6, 2011 at 10:19 am Reply

    I’m finally giving up on doing a letter this year although in year’s past we have received cards saying they are anticipating our cards. Thought I’d share some of them with you in a post I did on my blog last year, I think.
    https://susie1958.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=758&action=edit

    I have a lot going on this year and after losing my job back in July, I thought we should save the money this year. My husband has ordered some cards and is doing this year’s, but he only ordered 25 and it is definitely not as elaborate as in year’s past.

Leave a Reply

