The Craft Show Saga Continues

Earring Display

My second craft show of the winter season was held on the north-end of the City of Spokane at Mead Senior H.S. The show is held every November as a benefit to the school’s band program. Although I personally have not attended the school, I’ve always been impressed with the emphasis they put into their music programs (rumor has it you have to actually AUDITION to get into the choir!) Having more than one of the small high schools I attended be of the sports-is-all-important kind (I suck at all things athletic in nature), I think it’s refreshing to have a school whose support lies elsewhere too.

Mead Craft Fair Booth

Mead Craft Fair Booth

Although I have attended the this particular craft show a couple of times as a buyer, this was my first time there as a seller. In the previous years my visits introduced me to some awesome craft booths and some great gifts for Christmas (and myself). I did not hesitate to sign up for this show once I finally got the contract information. (It took me forever to figure out who to contact, one would think it was top secret info!) Two days for $50 sounded like a great deal to me, so I took it.

Hair accessories Display

Hair accessories Display

I have to say that the show was pretty slow, as was my last one as SCC, but I did slightly better in sales. And even though the second day, Sunday, was very, veryyyyyy slowwwwww: it was worth it for the handful of sales I received. Overall I left satisfied and plan on attending it again next year. The volunteers were really nice and helpful. Plus, students went around taking coffee and tea orders, so when I was stuck by myself from time to time and couldn’t leave – I could still get something to drink!

The sellers in the booth next to me (also selling jewelry), however, were not at all pleased. I think on Sunday they sold only 1 pair of earrings, and I’m not sure how much (or little) they sold on Saturday either. Hopefully enough to pay for their booth space but I was afraid to ask. I could understand why they were feeling pretty grumpy about the situation.

Firestarters and Heat Packs

Firestarters and Heat Packs

I do feel bad for my mother-in-law, though. She was somewhat sharing my booth with me this time and took a table for her heat packs and fire starters. She did not sell a single one (and the adorable fire starters were only 75 cents a piece!) She’ll be sharing my booth with me again this coming Saturday at Loon Lake. I really hope she’ll do better this time around. Even if she only ends up selling ONE item, that is better than coming away thinking your product is unsellable! She’ll be allowed to sell edible goodies at this next one though, and I can only imagine they will vanish when hungry persons see how delicious they look.

Cookies…….. yummmm…….

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “The Craft Show Saga Continues

  1. Lori Anderson November 17, 2011 at 9:06 am Reply

    School shows are HARD. And my two cents — the should never put two jewelry people next to each other.

    Display is important — marketing show it takes 3 seconds to pass a booth and make a decision to walk in or not. (I write for a magazine that talks about this stuff if you wonder where I’m getting this stuff!)

    The important thing is when you get a customer, try to get their info (email or address) and tell them you’d like to send them info when you’re at another show in their area (and that you won’t sell their info!) and to have a web site to direct them to. Send postcards a couple weeks before your show — it does help! And I’ve had a lot of luck offering customers who bring that card in 10% off their purchase. It’s another thing you can tell them when they ask why you want their info.

    Hope that helps! You’ll do FINE!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns November 17, 2011 at 9:19 am Reply

      Thanks for the tips Lori. I did think it was weird that I was right next to another jewelry seller. That’s never happened to me before.

    • madamesaslow November 17, 2011 at 9:51 am Reply

      Hello Lori,
      What magazine is that? I’d be interested in reading it.
      Thanks,
      Adriann

  2. Memories for Life Scrapbooks November 17, 2011 at 10:49 am Reply

    Shows can be so tricky! Glad you had a fairly good weekend and will be doing it again next year. Sometimes it takes getting your name out for people to come back and find you :)
    Hope your next show is great and that your mother-in-law sells lots of goodies…I’m always drawn to the food booths :)

  3. Poor mom! Those fire starters look really cute! Being a musician myself, I think I would’ve really enjoyed Mead HS.

    • MegansBeadedDesigns November 17, 2011 at 11:28 am Reply

      I know! I’m really hoping she sells some of them at our next show to help make up for it!

  4. Heather November 17, 2011 at 2:45 pm Reply

    I agree, they should NEVER put two jewelry booths right next to each other. At the last show I did there was a jewelry booth across from me and I felt really bad as I’m making sales and I didn’t see her sell very much. Shows are tricky though, and sadly the economy is still pretty rough too.

  5. Jessie Yost November 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm Reply

    Hooray for schools supporting music and arts! My daughter was offered extra credit in algebra last year for attending basketball games – made me so angry. So, I need a heat pack for sore muscles – does your Mother-in law have a web site?

    • MegansBeadedDesigns November 17, 2011 at 4:38 pm Reply

      She doesn’t have one right now, but I’m sure she would still be interested in making a deal. I believe her prices were $8 for a small, $10 for a medium size, and $15 for large. I would assume at least $5 for flat rate shipping since they are so heavy.

      • Jessie Yost November 19, 2011 at 5:58 am Reply

        That sounds great – what are the measurements for large?

  6. […] goes a little overboard. For example, the self-entitled “craft fair” I attended to at Mead H.S. the second week of November had everything from Avon, to Tupperware, to Cookie Lee jewelry. If […]

Leave a Reply

