I’m not a slacker, I swear!

Green necklace & Earrings Set - $24.95

Green necklace & Earrings Set - $24.95

So you might of noticed that I haven’t been following my cardinal rule lately. That is: make new things and update often. My Etsy shops have been fairly stagnant as of late, but it’s not for lack of my making new items. Trust me, I’ve been making new pieces at a record rate! I just haven’t been posting them online. It would be silly for me to do so.

It would be silly because I have a butt-load of craft fairs coming up, and I plan on SELLING the frik OUT! (A reasonable goal, right? *wink, wink*) But in any case, it seems like it would be redundant for me to take the time to photograph and list a bunch of items so they can only be in my Etsy shop for a week before being taken out again for the fairs, possibly to never return if they are purchased (again, see my oh-so-reasonable goal above.)

White Rose Pendant Necklace - $11.95

White Rose Pendant Necklace - $11.95

I’ll be deactivating almost all of my items before the end of the week for my first show on Saturday. So again: I’m not a slacker, just selling elsewhere. Ideally, anyway.

This is one of the biggest dilemmas of selling handmade. I can re-make a few of my pieces multiple times so that I can sell them more than once, but most I simply make one time – and one time only. These OOAK pieces are gone once someone buys them, and those lucky people will be the only ones ever able to wear them. Lucky for them, but not so great for those who missed out.

Black Faceted Rondelle Necklace - $14.00

Black Faceted Rondelle Necklace - $14.00

Because most of my pieces are singular, I can’t afford to run the risk of selling in two places at once (at the craft fair, and online in my Etsy store.) Therefore I have to make a decision of what to focus on during the holiday season. This year I’ve decided to focus on selling at my local craft fairs, so my Etsy shop will be looking pretty sparse in the weeks ahead.

So if there’s been anything you’ve been eyeing – you have exactly 2 days from the time this blog post will be published to grab it before I start deactivating for the shows. Fair warning.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “I’m not a slacker, I swear!

  1. purpleboxjewelry November 2, 2011 at 9:59 am Reply

    love the green neck set, good luck at the craft fairs!

  2. frannie November 2, 2011 at 10:18 am Reply

    Lovely necklaces. I wish you all the best at the craft fairs.

  3. MegansBeadedDesigns November 2, 2011 at 10:46 am Reply

    Thanks all! I have high expectations, obviously! lol

  4. Rose November 2, 2011 at 11:01 am Reply

    Good luck with your shows!

  5. Brooke Shambley November 2, 2011 at 12:04 pm Reply

    Your screen is showing up very small. Wow, this is the first time I figured out what OOAK meant. Yeah feeling a little blond right now . . .

  6. MegansBeadedDesigns November 2, 2011 at 12:16 pm Reply

    Haha, Don’t worry Brooke, it took me a long time before I figured it out too!

  7. Lissie November 2, 2011 at 2:12 pm Reply

    Good luck with your sale at the fairs!
    It is smart to close your Etsy-shop while doing shows. Less stress and you don’t risk selling one item two places.

  8. Heather November 3, 2011 at 7:25 pm Reply

    Oh I know how that it is! I’ve been doing the exact same thing-craft show prep! I too can make more of what I sell but it does take away from the uniqueness of the item and I don’t know about you but I just get plain old bored of making the same thing over, and over, and over. I’ve been holding off on listing a few things since I am hoping to sell out as well and not have to take on the task of photographing, writing a lengthy description, promoting, renewing (if that be the case), promoting, and did I mention promoting? Good luck with your shows! I’ve got my first Christmas show of the season next weekend!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns November 4, 2011 at 8:14 am Reply

      Good luck to you too Heather! May many sales and success ensue! :-)

  9. Crystal Shelton (@poisonousgarden) November 4, 2011 at 8:22 pm Reply

    Wow very nice items! I know how it is though – we just got finished with 3 major shows and have no energy to take pictures and post all our new items… sigh

Leave a Reply

