R Yew Skeered Yet?

Halloween party

Halloween party

So I feel pretty Halloweened out already. Haha. This past weekend was a Halloween-Bash bananza. On Thursday night we went to Silverwood Theme park over in Idaho for their Scarywood Halloween special. One of the best Haunted houses (The Blood Bayou) I’d seen in a long time! They did an awesome job. Oh, and there is the zombie express, which means we got to ride a train that was being chased by zombies. What could be more awesome than being chased by zombies? I can’t think of much. Then on Friday we got all prettied-up in our Halloween costumes for the first party of the season. Late into the night we sported too-high heels and obnoxious wigs. Totally worth it though. Everyone thought my eye make-up was pretty rad and asked how long it took me. I was pretty prideful in being able to say, only about 30 minutes. Heck yes. We followed all of this with a visit to the Amazing Corn Maze the following day. It poured buckets of rain on us and was freezing as hell, but all worth it to be part of the Halloween experience.

Halloween Bracelet Patterns Collection - $9.95

Halloween Bracelet Patterns Collection - $9.95

Halloween isn’t over yet though! Still got one more week to enjoy the festivities. I think I’ll slow down a bit on big celebratory events, but that doesn’t mean I won’t continue to read spooky books and pop in the horror films of my choice. (LOVE scary movies!) Here’s a list of the some of the books I have read/listened to, the movies I recommend if you want something to curl up on the couch to and hide your face in your pillow during some of the very scary parts. Also, a few accessories that make the boring days at the office have some festive fun.

Halloween Cupcake Earrings - $5

Halloween Cupcake Earrings - $5

          Scary Movie 4It, by Stephen King A Dirty Job, by Christopher Moore


Scary Movie 4
– The funniest of the spoof movies yet! No matter how many times I watch this movie, it makes me crack up every time!
It, by Stephen King – One of the BEST scary reads sure to keep you up late at night with the flashlight on
A Dirty Job, by Christopher Moore – a quirky, humorous story about a beta male who finds himself in the position of being death. Full of lots of laughs and underworld demons, what could be better?

Halloween Cake Earrings - $9

Halloween Cake Earrings - $9

            Gravedancers Full Dark No Stars, by Stephen King Pet Sematary

Gravedancers – an oober-scary horror flick with plenty of scenes that will make you jump out of your seat and have your rooting for the heroes. Great fro late-night cuddling with lots of popcorn!

Full Dark No Stars, by Stephen King – Can you tell I'm a huge Stephen King fan? Even though i love just about everything he's written, I do have to say that this is a collection of some of his best work. These stories are somewhat painful to read, but excellently written, and every sentence feels very real and true. I highly recommend.

Pet Sematary – If you are one of those complainers (like me) who thinks that today's scary movies simply aren't scary anymore, then do not be afraid to go back to this oldie but goodie. By far one of the scariest movies I've ever seen, this one is sure to stick in your head long after the credits roll. Just as a good horror flick should!

Have your own recommendations? Feel free to leave them in the comments section! I’d love to see what they are!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “R Yew Skeered Yet?

  1. Christie Cottage October 24, 2011 at 7:39 pm Reply

    Halloween….. I had better get a pumpkin soon, or I will miss it! LOL

  2. MegansBeadedDesigns October 24, 2011 at 8:02 pm Reply

    Don’t worry Christie, I haven’t carved mine yet either! Still deciding how to carve it… :-)

  3. Brooke Shambley October 24, 2011 at 8:45 pm Reply

    Hmm, that reminds me that I ought to do a Halloween decor blog before it’s past that time :-) Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Debbie October 26, 2011 at 12:13 am Reply

    Had to comment here, because I am a huge lover of horror movies, too!!! I loved the movies It and Pet Sematary, and lets not forget the original Shining. That was a great Stephen King movie, too. The horror movie that freaked me out the most though, has got to be The Ring. That is one creepy movie. One that I have watched over and over, though. Right now I am watching The Blair Witch Project, another great horror movie.
    Happy Halloween,
    Debbie

  5. MegansBeadedDesigns October 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm Reply

    Oooh, yes, The Ring is a good one. I’ve heard that the original Japanese version is even creepier, I’ll have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

