Taking the Leap… Quitting My Weekend Job

ID Lanyard - $17.95

ID Lanyard - $17.95

So this is kind of a scary big deal for me. As many of you readers know my previous time-management posts, I have worked several jobs, for 7 days a week for a very long time now. Even when I was going to collage I was working 3 to 4 jobs at the same time, trying to keep myself above water as best I could master. Between credit card debt, student loans, the house payment, and the cars, I certainly wasn’t in any position to go down to just a 40-hour work week like “normal” people get to experience. I had to hang onto my part-time weekend and freelance jobs along with my day job even after college and then some.

Eye Ring - $8.95

Eye Ring - $8.95

… and then Etsy came along. I’ve been selling my crafts for a long time now, but only doing a few craft fairs hasn’t been enough fr me to consider it a legitimate “business” even with the genuine Washington State business license. With the help of Etsy, I have been able to sell my stuff online, and have a venue I can operate from all year round, not just during the craft fair season. The start up cost is low, .20 a listing, so there isn’t the risk of paying an over-priced booth fee and not making your money back. (I’ve done one too many of those shows and it had scared me away form them for awhile.)

So after a year of operating 4 Etsy shops and working 3+ jobs I’ve really started to feel like I’m burning my candle at both ends. Sure, I can keep up with the jobs and the jewelry creation enough, but my friends and family time, the cleanliness of my house, etc, has had to fall by the way side. Tired of being tired, I’ve tried to put in a big extra effort into my online Etsy shops to see if it would make a difference.

It has.

For the month of September I made more from my Etsy shops than I made at my weekend job. Maybe most people won’t think the actual amount is very much, considering I make just above minimum wage at my weekend job, but when I’m referring to the amount I’ll need to pay my electric and internet bill, then it’s a big deal to me. Seeing this comparison, I decided to take the leap. After 3 years of working 7 days a week at both a day job and a weekend job right out of college, I put in my 2-weeks notice at my weekend job.

Saturday was my last day.

Lace Earrings - $7.00

Lace Earrings - $7.00

Am I nervous? Heck yes. After getting back from vacation last week I can’t seem to squeeze a single sale out of my Etsy shops, but I’m scrambling to get them back up to the speed they were in September. Maybe I made a mistake, maybe not. However, Autumn and Winter is prime craft fair season, and I plan to take full advantage of it. Working in retail for my weekend job, asking for time off during the holiday season had been like pulling teeth, so I had given up trying. Now, with my weekends free to operate as I see fit, I will be able to attend craft show after craft show. It’s a risk, but I’m excited to prove myself competent and give it a shot. Wish me luck!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Taking the Leap… Quitting My Weekend Job

  1. Annette October 11, 2011 at 4:41 pm Reply

    I do wish you much luck! I admire your commitment and desire to do what has to be done to pay the bills. It’s not easy to do what you’ve done for so long. I hope your Etsy shop is very successful!

  2. Denise October 11, 2011 at 4:58 pm Reply

    Much luck is being sent your way! I am doing the same, putting most of my eggs into the Etsy basket! Here’s to both of us!!

  3. Laurie J Niswander October 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm Reply

    Good Luck!

  4. The Lioness October 12, 2011 at 2:58 am Reply

    Megan! We must be on the same wave length with our Etsy Dreams! I am so glad you have taken the plunge and BELIEVE IN YOURSELF and have freed yourself to do what you love. They tell me it makes a difference and I am working to prove it! Much Luck!

    The Lioness

  5. spiteorflight October 13, 2011 at 6:48 pm Reply

    Good luck!! My Etsy shop had always been the icing on the cake — a little extra money here and there. But a few weeks ago, I lost my 9-5 job, so now it’s all I’ve got and I’m trying to figure out how to make it an actual money maker!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns October 13, 2011 at 11:33 pm Reply

      Yikes! That’s a scary situation to be in! I hope things get better with your Etsy sales and work out for the best! Keep me updated!

  6. Sarah Breese Richards October 17, 2011 at 3:53 pm Reply

    Congratulations Megan! That is so amazing!!! I wish you all the best on your new endeavor. Do you find the craft fairs to be profitable. I have yet to go to any craft fairs but I’m noticing my beadweaving friends go to quite a few and I’m thinking this might be a good idea for me as well.

    Sarah
    -BohoDame Designs

  7. MegansBeadedDesigns October 17, 2011 at 11:43 pm Reply

    I find some craft fairs to be more profitable than others. It’s about location, traffic, and the time of year. For example, if I sold scarves and hats, I wouldn’t sell during the summer (but winter months would be awesome). I try to stick to weekend shows that get good foot traffic. Also, the most I’ve spent on a show was a 3.5 days show at $150. Usually I’ll do $50 shows but they still have a lot of traffic. having a lot of low cost items (like $5 rings and earrings) will be your biggest sellers, so stock up on a ton of those and you’ll do great!

  8. […] Quitting My Weekend Job Finally reaching the point where I can narrow down my # of day jobs! […]

  9. […] with.) In 2011, my resolution was to narrow down my number of jobs. By late October, I was able to quit my weekend job and therefore fulfill my resolution. (Hooray!) This year, I have two resolutions, one for my Etsy […]

Leave a Reply

