Staying Relevant

I’m not going to pretend like I am a “relevancy expert” when it comes to the new Etsy search engine or anything, but I can tell what I have figured out and what works for me. It’s really, actually, quite simple. The example below is how I have made one of my headband listings more relevant:

Rhinestone Headband - $24.95

When trying to think about how someone on Etsy might LOOK for a headband like this, several possibilities comes to mind: blue headband, rhinestone headband, bridal headband, leaf headband, metal headband, beaded headband, etc., etc.

The thing is, your 3 first words are the most important, and whichever word I choose to put in front of the word “headband” is going to give it the most weight in the searches. For example, if I call this a “blue headband” then it will come up high in the searches for “blue headband” but not for “beaded headband.” Even if I title it “Beaded blue headband” the results are the same. What matters the most is which words are PUT TOGETHER, one directly after another. In this example, I went with “Rhinestone Headband in Blue Pearls and Crystals Leaf Pattern Hand Beaded – Completely Original and Unique – OOAK”

Green Headband - $24.95

I opted to use “rhinestone headband” as my all-important two words because “rhinestone headband” is searched more on Etsy than any of the other combinations according to Google’s Keyword Research tool. However, Etsy does not like to have the same seller over and over again in the first few pages of the search, so if I had several headbands similar to this one in my shop, I would change my all-important word before the word “headband” with each one, My next listing might be “Blue headband” and then “Beaded headband,” and so on and so forth.

Relevancy does not stop at the title, however. In fact, if you have a great title, it is not enough to make you relevant at all. The trick I have figure out is easy enough, but nonetheless significant. What I do with my listings is I copy the title of the listing, and paste it as the first sentence in my description. I’m not sure how much this helps, but from experimenting with different listings, it seems to make a difference. Also, Google crawls the first 120 characters of your description, so having all of the juicy words from you title in there probably do it a wold of good in that search engine as well.

Purple Headband - $14.95

Finally, it is VERY VERY IMPORTANT that you use your tags to match the EXACT phrases in your title. In this headband example, my first tag matches the all-important phrase in my title “rhinestone headband” and then the rest of the tags follow suit, fitting with the different words and phrases in my title such as “blue pearls” and “Beaded” etc.

The results? This headband shows up on the 1st page in a relevancy search for “rhinestone headband.” The great things about it is I don’t have to renew constantly to keep in there, simply having the title, the description, and the tags to fit made it work perfectly. Again, I am no search-engine expert, but with some experimenting, this is what I have come up with. I felt it was important information to pass on to you! I hope it’s helpful!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Staying Relevant

  1. Abby August 31, 2011 at 5:04 pm Reply

    This was really helpful – thank you! Abby
    http://111collagedesign.blogspot.com

  2. MegansBeadedDesigns August 31, 2011 at 6:14 pm Reply

    You’re welcome Abby! Glad i could be of some assistance!

  3. Connie Jones September 5, 2011 at 7:01 pm Reply

    Thank you for this clear, helpful explanation1

  4. The Big 100 « MegansBeadedDesigns's Blog September 19, 2011 at 3:44 pm Reply

    […] all I got for now. You can check out my post on relevancy to find out how to get found in the searches, how to sell and market at crafts fairs, and one of my […]

  5. Priscilla Williams September 29, 2011 at 3:22 pm Reply

    You are awesome. Thank you so much for sharing what you’ve learned. You have given simple and clear information on this topic. Simple and clear help is not easy to find on Etsy sometimes. :[

    You really are awesome.

  6. […] Staying Relevant Etsy changed their search engine to default by relevancy. I figured out some simple ways to make my items show up in the top of the searches. […]

  7. 622press January 25, 2012 at 12:36 pm Reply

    Wow very interesting… thank you!

Leave a Reply

