Guess who made it to the Etsy front page!?!?!

Making the Etsy front page. It’s kind of a big deal. In fact, it’s such a big deal that I honestly-HONESTLY-had come to the conclusion that no matter how many treasuries I was put in, or how many I made, it was never going to happen to me.

And then… SURPRISE! A big surprise too! My secondary shop, Glamour365, was the one that made it. The shop that is only on 3 treasury teams instead of dozens like my main shop, MegansBeadedDesigns. The shop I don’t put as much effort into. What are the odds of that happening?

Also, I happened to be home, and on my computer when this phenomenon occured. Talk about lucky! I often read about people being featured in the middle of the night when they are asleep, or during the day when they are at work, only to discover it later. But I was lucky; I was present and bursting with excitement when the exposure began. I was just starting to list a few new drafts to be posted the following morning when my activity feed started to go crazy. Because I am the obsessive kind of seller, always hoping for some new shop love, I checked it hopefully.

Featured Ring - $7.00

Oh, my goodness! I was getting a butt-load of hearts! It was insane! While quite a few of my items were getting hearts, one ring in particular was receiving heart after heart after heart. I knew something was going on, that my ring was being featured somewhere, but I didn’t even think to THINK of the front page. My ring sold in an instant. Since it was receiving so much attention, I thought it only smart to renew the sold item. That’s when I discovered where all of the attention was from. I all but started to jump up and down. My ring was on the front page!!!! I had achieved the impossible and made it to the coveted Etsy front page!

I don’t know what all of those forum complainers are talking about. Being on the front page was not “not a big deal” it was a HUGE deal for me! I received close to 1000 views in the matter of a single HOUR. I received over 50 hearts of the featured item, and also lots of shop hearts and several hearts on my other items. I SOLD the featured ring. I don’t know about you, but I think all of those things add up to a pretty big deal in my opinion.

Of course, I can help but regard with envy some of the shops that get to be on the front page everyday, but that is another topic for another time (too negative for me right now.) For now, I am going to enjoy my victory and ecstatically wait and hope for it to reoccur!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Guess who made it to the Etsy front page!?!?!

  1. Maggie August 3, 2011 at 2:20 pm Reply

    Congratulations! I agree with you. It is huge! I was able to feel your excitement – in getting on the front page – and in being on when it happened!

  2. Michele August 3, 2011 at 11:35 pm Reply

    Congratulations! I wonder how people find out about being featured in the middle of the night…simply by checking their views or is there some kind of notification system?

    Anyway, so glad you were able to be there for it. It makes it that much more exciting when you get to see it happen in real time!

    • MegansBeadedDesigns August 4, 2011 at 4:34 pm Reply

      There is no notification, but the onslaught of views and hearts would make it pretty obvious that you had been featured SOMEWHERE. And then I believe you can check on craftopolis to see if it was the FP that gave you all that attention or not. :-)

  3. Jacquie Champion August 4, 2011 at 1:38 am Reply

    Megan, it is a huge deal, don’t let anyone tell you different. We all covet being on the FP and so congratulations to you. Enjoy the limelight!!!!

  4. Connie Jones August 4, 2011 at 3:12 pm Reply

    Congrats! What a great experience!

  5. fussitup September 19, 2011 at 2:38 am Reply

    Congrats Megan! It is a very big deal!!!

  6. […] Made it to the Etsy Front Page! Almost as good as being on Regretsy. Kind of a big deal for me. […]

Leave a Reply

