Audible = The best thing since sliced bread

I think I’ve made it clear that I am pretty busy person with a very limited about of time. With 3 “real” jobs (1 full time, two part time) and 4 Etsy shops, I’m not sure many would argue with me. Whenever I can I need to squeeze in the time to actually MAKE the stuff I sell in my Etsy shops, so that leaves with with little to no time to do one of my favorite things: read.

I got a Kindle for Christmas and I love it. Unfortunately though, as mentioned before, I don’t have a lot of time to read books with it. Reading commands the use of your eyes and hands, making it difficult to do anythings else (save maybe shove food and coffee into my mouth) at the same time. The I discovered audio books. It’s the greatest thing ever. I can order an audio book at Audible.com, and have it delivered wirelessly to my Kindle, ready to be listened to in just a few minutes. This is a life-saving thing for someone as busy as I am. While I’m at work, white I’m at home working on my beadwork, and while I’m driving to and from place to place, I can plug in my Kindle and LISTEN to the books I have been missing out on reading all this time. I cannot tell you how great this is.

listening to audio books is the busy person's answer to not having time to read!

Because I’m not big on commitment I waited a long time before becoming a member of the site. I was just buying audio books ala carte, when I finally realized that I was listening to so many that I could really save a lot of money by just paying the monthly membership and getting my 1 credit a month to save on 1 book + get better prices on almost all of the other ones they offer. Because I can listen to them all day at at work, I can literally get through 2+ books in a week. It’s a godsend.

If you’re a super busy person like me, then I would highly recommend trying Audible out. I don’t mean to sound like an annoying commercial, but I am just so stoked about it. Even if you don’t have a kindle, you can download the books to your iPod or MP3 player. You can listen while your exercising, working on the computer, doing the tedious task of photo editing and listing items on Etsy, and like me, white doing your crafts. At least try out a book or two first (I highly recommend The Help by Kathryn Stockett, some GREAT performances there) to see what you think. I figured since I am devouring so many per week, I can start writing up some recommendations and reviews. It would be great to have some discussions and share which audio jewels we discover!

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Audible = The best thing since sliced bread

  1. SandySays1 July 16, 2011 at 9:04 pm Reply

    I shouldn’t say this, but I agree, for a busy person like you audio books are the “cat’s meow.”
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. Tabitha July 16, 2011 at 11:29 pm Reply

    Wow – first, I can’t imagine how busy you must be with so many jobs AND 4 etsy shops!! Sounds like this is a good fit for you for sure!

Leave a Reply

