December’s at the halfway mark

Call me a Grinch if you will, but I am very excited for the Christmas season to be OVER. Now don’t get me wrong, I heart Christmas Day, I heart buying awesome gifts for people (“WHERE DID YOU FIND THIS?! I LOVE IT!!”), and I heart putting ornaments on my tree. What I am not quite as fond of, however, is working retail.

I currently hold down 5 jobs, and two of those are retail. Whereas I usually put in a few hours a week at each, during the months of November and December my schedule explodes and they fight over who gets to work me the most and snatch up every spare minute I may posses in-between working places. Oh, and extended holiday hours. Again, you can call me a Grinch, but I’m not particularly fond of working until midnight/one o’clock in the morning and then getting up at 5 a.m. for my day job. I just keep telling myself to suck it in, I need the friggin money, and thankfully, December’s almost over.

For all the pros of Christmas, we all have to admit there are a few cons. Such as, finding a friggin parking spot when the shopping centers are overly crowded. Hearing Christmas music starting in OCTOBER, and having to waste money on buying presents for people you don’t particularly like, but you need to avoid that awkward family situation.

My Etsy Sales have been squat for the Christmas season, or, actually at all. I wasn’t able to squeeze in any craft fairs like I was hoping I would be able to. But then, you know, there is always next year. I’ll just continue to make stuff that I don’t have time to list. (Who’s gonna see it if I can’t post it? Oh, well. At least it looks pretty!) And I’ll keep counting down the days… after all, ’tis the season to be joyous!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

